Help at our family resort in Kanchanaburi, Thailand

Country

Thailand

updated  

Favourited 410 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2319

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ****Update: 1st February 2020

    Hi Everyone. We’re having a great season here and with the help of many volunteers we have made some big strides at the resort; new website, guest book and interior design plans. We currently have two designers and project managers here at the resort that have made renovation plans for eight rooms.

    WE NEED DIY PASSIONATE FIXER UPPERS ASAP. Ideally for February and March while the designers are here working on the project with you as a team.

    We are looking for one to two people that can help implement the room renovations.

    It will consist of tasks like sanding wood and painting, removing nails and old wood boards and laying tile. There will also be fun projects like making wall art and turning old cabinets into new modern cabinets. If you love DIY projects this will be very fun and rewarding. We will also be happy to help you take photos if you’re building a portfolio of your renovation skills.

    There are seven rooms that are on a floating raft and one hillside bungalow with a river view. We have the plans and design ready and we need someone (or a couple) that can bring their love and passion for seeing outdated structures get a fun facelift. The designers will be here helping every step of the way.

    Bring your ideas and come enjoy the famous mountainous area of Kanchanaburi, Thailand.




    Dear workawayers,

    I am Champ (that's really my name) I'm originally from Bangkok Thailand, right now I am working as an officer in the Spanish embassy and helping my parents as an online marketing manager for their little resort in Kanchanaburi Province. I have travelled to different countries in the world through Workaway program and have made so many memorable stories along the way. I fully understand how important it is to become a global citizen in the world we are living now. Cultural understanding and the ability to adapt yourself in the new environment are super important nowadays and that is why I am here both as a HOST and also as a WORKAWAYER.

    I am looking for the person with the same kind of mentality, the person who really want to immerse yourself in the new culture, learning new language(maybe) and put your effort on making a difference to the resort.
    My dad has spent 15 years on this project putting all his efforts and money to make his dream becomes reality.
    This place has been the little heaven for our family since I was so young, it's a traditional thai style resort with the riverside view in the middle of the mountain(which lies between the border of Thailand and Myanmar) also located very close to a beautiful waterfall.

    If you're interested in
    1. immerse yourself in the real thai culture with the local people.
    2. living in a beautiful nature of tropical paradise.
    3. using your knowledge in online marketing, web designing or customer service in a foreign country.

    Please don't hesitate to contact me :)


    and I can't wait to welcome you to be part of our family.

    Cheers,
    Champ

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have an opportunity to...
    1. live with a very kind local Thai family
    2. live in one of the most beautiful, quiet and historical province of Thailand
    3. learn some basic Thai (if you already know some Thai, I bet you could upgrade your level to be an advance speaker here as you have to talk with Thai people EVERYDAY)
    4. use your knowledge to make a difference!
    5. stay in a beautiful resort located right next to the Kwai Noi river
    6. get a free food, accommodation and transportation (between Bangkok and Kanchanaburi)
    (my mom is a good chef and she can definitely share you the secret of THAI FOOD)

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for a person who could help our family dealing with
    - foreign guests (English communication skill is a must!)
    - online content (writing some content for the website and Facebook page, well written skill of English is quite necessary)
    - booking system (collaborating with the reception of the resort)

    Some other skills will definitely be useful to our project! (people with these skills are highly NEEDED)
    - Interior design/ landscaping design/ gardening
    - web designer

    If you have any kinds of skill that you think it might be useful to our project, pleaseeee let us know :)
    We are quite open to anything!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Thai, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It's a little house with one bed and private bathroom inside (AC is available)
    On weekend, we will definitely take care of your food(breakfast, lunch and dinner)
    On weekdays, you might need to cook by yourself on some specific days but kitchen and some ingredients will be available for you :)

    We offer you a free transportation from Bangkok to the resort and also my parents always travel between these two provinces, so you can definitely come back to Bangkok for your days off.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We kindly ask you to help us 5 days a week (two days off are very flexible so you can just let us know when you would like to have days off during the week)

    On your days off, you can spend your time chilling at the resort, reading, sunbathing, swimming in the river or going to visit other tourist spots in the province. PLUS!! we have motorbike for rent at the resort with 50% discount price for volunteers, so you can design your program on your day off and explore around the beautiful town. You can also come back to Bangkok with my parents for shopping, visiting a capital city and free accommodation in Bangkok is also available on your days off :)
    (We will take care of you as a member of our family)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 116573751595