Come and help us on our waterfront hobby farm while enjoying Australian culture in Ashby, Australia




Favourited 38 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Description


    We are on a hobby farm in Ashby Heights, NSW, 10 minutes from Maclean, 20 Minutes from Yamba. We are in our late 30's and have a 14 year old son living with us as well as a small dog and a cat. We have a 20 year old daughter who has left home and occasionally visits. The property is waterfront with an inground pool and just over 4 acres, we grow vegetables to eat and to sell at our roadside stall. Strictly non smoking.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers can learn about gardening, vegetarian and vegan cooking, Australian culture. We like to go on nature walks around our region and to the beach.

  • Help


    We need help with planting and weeding gardens, occassional carpentry projects, cleaning, Vietnamese, German and French language practice & general maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Vietnamese: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The bedroom that Workawayers will stay in has just been renovated and is shown in the photo's, there are 2 sets of French doors that lead out to the veranda, where there is a BBQ and bar fridge, which you can use if you want to cook meat, meat is not allowed in the house. We eat vegetarian and vegan food, we are good cooks and have a beautiful vegetarian kitchen as shown in the photo's. It is a very comfortable nice house with an inground pool and a small boat ramp.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workawayers are welcome to use the pool, we also have a boat ramp and workawayers are welcome to use our canoe. There is a pub 5 minute drive away in Harwood and Maclean is 10 minutes away where there are shops, cafes & pubs. There are beautiful beaches 20 minutes drive away in Yamba and Iluka is about 30 minutes drive away. We have Netflix, Stan, Nintendo Wii, a games room, books, DVD's etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 113764757728