Learn more about permaculture and indigineous people of australia near Cooktown, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 144 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a non profit organisation fully solar powered organic healthy living permaculture farm. 12 hectares of unique rain forest located in a southern valley 20kms south before cook town. My vision is a future for humanity to live in harmony with mother earth. So we are passionate about doing all we can to live a sustainable life. We are so provided for by Mother Nature. I take guidance from the Permaculture principles:

    Care for Earth
    Care for People, and
    Sharing the Abundance

    It is not a holiday resort. Its gonna be a very different and confronting or rather hard and unconvenient work away experience if you're not used to living in the tropics and living off the land. There are flies that bite and mosquito biteys. At times it may feel bit like a construction site because I am only in the construction stages. So please don't expect to be glamorous camping. It does get dirty and dusty. It is a construction site. I am in the remote bush 30 mins from town. I am not a free taxi service into town. Washing clothes is done by hand. Soap is not provided. It is all our responabilies to cook and clean as a community. Meals are raw wholesome foods. Local foraged road kill Kangaroo is on the menu. Greens from the garden and fruits and roots from the garden. Fishing and shellfish foraging at the beach. I am passionate about actively living a healthy sustainable life. My gardens are the heart of the land, and are all organically grown. I am actively supporting other organic local gardeners once per week as a healthy alternative. I hold high values on living healthy, eating healthy and with clarity in our vision for growing abundant Fruit Forest so we can all share the abundance. I do not support plastic, tobacco, alcohol or industry meat farmed products. Please take your rubbish with you always.

    Heart sharing, gardening, yoga, Thai massage, art, Natural building, bush foods walk, and didgeridoo sound healing is what i love to share. I am learning. Plastic, tobacco, alcohol and factory farmed meats are not welcome. The day is started early at sunrise with sun salutation, breakfast, heart sharing and jobs for the day. 2 hrs work in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon is asked. Ciesta is from 11am to 3pm. I have lots of interesting books and all the tools if you're feeling crafty. Music room and circus things.


    Looking forward to meet you open minded people, who want to share the abundance.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are passionate about the first people of the land and admire the way they cultivated and foraged from the land. I am a decendant of a local tribe not far from here and I have been passed down bush tucker foods and medicines in the local area and am actively living off these foods so you will learn about local bush tukka "Mayi"(Maaee). Also i speak the language of the Ngumbai people of Kuranda and am passionate about sharing and learning the language of the first people of the region. You will learn about aboriginal culture, about the land, the animals, how to cultivate land with out using chemicals, I like to visit archers point beach every second day for swimming, foraging "Googanaar" (coconut) and gingal(shell) sea weed and taking Zen the dog to play.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for people that are passionate about mother earth and working with her to establish a solid organic greens gardens and fruit tree orchid by the beautiful Esk river. This year is the year of the soil. So we are preparing soil and creating terrace garden beds for all greens. Coconut, sweet potato, pumpkin, Bananas, mango, paw paw, Jack fruit, cassava and all other tropical fruits are the ones you'll be caring for in the zone 1 area :) needs help weeding, planting seeds and propagating cuttings in zone 1 around the house. The priorities are weeding and foraging. I am also open for your ideas and inspiration or knowledge to do with permaculture natural building, recording meditation tracks, Music jams and cooking.

    Let´s have fun in the garden!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    On the property is a large open living 2 story community coconut temple. With big table and community kitchen. Cooking is done under the stars in an old termite nest outside as it seems to bring us all together and form a strong communication level. I am passionate about caring for all visitors and value trust and honesty and a safe talking space for all you beautiful beings. in the community house Upstairs is a small empty loft. I do have mattresses with mosquito net :) Byo Sleeping bag

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If your hitching here I don't mind driving to Cooktown to pick you up and get some supplies before heading back home :) Please be honest in advance if you cannot arrive on time for me to pick you up.
    A very private little beach is 5 ks from my place with an abundance of coconut trees, we can go to swimming holes and go 4wd. there is the beautiful esk river which runs through 12 hectares of the land and offers many pristine spots to have a swim croc free :) Daily jam sessions.
    Rossvillle and other 4wd waterfalls are really close.
    We can also just chill and have bon fire and fun with circus stuff and music, I can show you basic acrobatic things and juggling.
    I love to make music together, hopefully you bring a sax and can teach me somethin :)
    Of course it is totally fine, when you need your time off for having your own space and want to be by yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours in the morning 2 hours if afternoon 6 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 113592362784