Come and learn about mucking out horses and general care of horses in Limerick, Ireland




Favourited 414 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hi ! My name is Deirdre my family consists of my partner and our 3 daughters aged 16 and 7 and 1 We have several dogs horses and cats .We recently moved in to anearly complete renovated cottage {not totally finished outside yet to be done } we are a showjumping orientated family and regulary compete in the summer months we have 5 stables at home and arena currently things we have to be doing are animal care and some painting etc . If able to ride then ur more than welcome help with the riding of the ponies and horses . we are located 10 mins from limerick city and 20 mins from Shannon airport we are 2 and a half hours from Dublin airport and a hour and half from cork airport .There are many sites locally to explore and at weekend we normally go showjumping or visit family .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    More than welcome to take part in family activities and will be treated like family member

  • Help


    Work involves mucking out horses and General care of horses opportunities to come and compete at shows is available to those with good level of experience and those who want to Experience this.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Own room

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If flying in to Shannon I will colect from airport or train station .there are lots of sight seeing in our area we live in a quiet area and is secure safe enviroment internet connection is good. so if you would like to stay with a small family and enjoy true irish company in a little village then please contact us

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 1134196914bc