Help me at the farm and enjoy a cultural exchange in Kiskunmajsa, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Julia, a seasoned workawayer who has finally found her own farm! I'm very laid back and love culture exchanges with people, so I'm happy to have some company. I'm an herbalist, a meditator, a musician and a farmer! I love to sing and joke around, as well as have deep talks. I truly enjoy having guests, as I like to take care of others.

    I have a huge 100-year old mansion with an equally as mature pear, apple and plum orchard. It sits on 4 hectare of beautiful land, so it's quiet and you feel alone with nature. :) The house is newly renovated and beautiful, a very nice and comfortable place to live in with lots of space. We also have a big pond where you can swim and relax with the surrounding nature.

    This is the first year of working with the house, but I have a big garden with lots of veggies and medicinal flowers, and we have quite a pear harvest, as well as many other fruits.

    The house is huge with a big attic with a big bed and privacy. The volunteer sleeps upstairs, and is welcome to my homemade sourdough breads, and vegetarian cooking in exchange for 4-5 hours of help per day. If you like to cook, I am happy to share that task as well. :) The rest of the time you can relax and enjoy the bounty of this property. There is also a lot of space to take a blanket and go sit on the grass by yourself, as well as two hammocks on the back porch.

    *WINTER ACCOMODATION*
    Volunteers have a bed in the living room which has a fireplace. It is not exactly warm in the house, but if you feed the fires, you should be fine. There is not a great amount of privacy because the house is cold unless you are near the fire. A volunteer would need to be comfortable making fires everyday for their warmth.

    I have a cat that sleeps outside, but sometimes she will come to purr you and give you love, if you would like.

    I don't have WIFI here but the signal is good, and if you need the internet I can give you a hotspot. This is a great place to forget about the internet and the outside world. :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can learn anything that I know from my 12 years traveling the world and volunteering on farms. You can learn about herbal medicine, gardening, meditation, cooking, and most of all, how to relax and enjoy life.

  • Help

    Help

    4-5 hours of work, and you can make your own schedule. I usually wake up early and meditate for at least an hour in the morning, so mornings are usually quiet and relaxed. I need help with general maintenance of the property, weeding, gardening, cutting small trees, etc., although right now in winter, I need volunteers who are willing to help with basic tasks around the house, walk to get groceries, and feed the fire. I would enjoy someone who is good at taking care of themselves and being in their own energy, while able to take directions clearly and take pride in helping the property grow. I love to share, laugh, make music with others, and relax. This is a great place to participate in earth work while being able to relax and appreciate nature.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Hungarian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I like practicing Spanish and Hungarian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bed with private attic (huge). The only 'non private' aspect is that you can hear what is going on in the kitchen downstairs. Homemade bread and vegetarian diet. I usually only cook in the evening, but you are free to cook with what I have here, which is mostly quality food from the market or the garden. I don't really buy cheese or meat, but I will provide coffee and milk and all other vegan stuff. The grocery store is about a 20-25 minute walk.
    *WINTER ACCOMODATION* A bed in the livingroom with fireplace. It is a 'through room' to my room, so you will have limited privacy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a big pond for swimming, lots of space for relaxing, an electric piano and guitar and yoga mats. The bus station is about a 25 minute walk, and I don't have a car, but I can walk to pick you up if you are nervous about getting here by yourself. It would be great to have a volunteer with a car!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You have space and a desk upstairs. I only have a hotspot, so I would prefer if you are spending hours online, that you would have a SIM card, or at least be willing to spend a few bucks on extra data that you use from my hotspot. :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of space and electrical outlets outside.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I am willing to accept pets, but if your dog is really really barky, then I would prefer not. I like it to be peaceful here. :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 113156851162