Come and help out on our hobby farm in Coldstream, beautiful British Colombia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 27 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in beautiful Brisitsh Columbia, Canada on a 10 acre hobby farm. We have a donkey, 2 goats, a bunch of sheep, a dog, a cat, and a few goldfish. We would like someone to help around the farm with some maintenance, care of the animals, and sometimes maybe assist us with our adult son, who is wheelchair bound (social hang outs, play games, etc). We need someone who is mature, and fun. We speak English and German, but we welcome any cultures and backgrounds. Preferably we would like someone for the upcoming spring/summer/fall, or any combination of the above. We live in a beautiful area of BC and there is lots to do! Boating, hiking, camping, fishing, water sports, shopping, skiing, wine tours, biking, you name it!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to show newcomers around the area, teach them new skills and also learn from them, and we speak English and German. We have lived here for 23 years and are happy to pass on what we know.

  • Help

    Help

    Please see our description above. Seeking general help with our hobby farm and possibly our wheelchair bound son.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Queen sized bed, closet and own bathroom in spacious room in the main house. Wifi, tv, hot tub/lake for a dip.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do around this area, especially if you enjoy being outdoors. There are bigger towns nearby as well for shopping, movies, etc. The public transport isn't great though, so you will need to organize transportation - we could assist with helping find a cheap car or make alternate arrangements. Great area for all kinds of outdoor activities with hundreds of lakes and rivers/creeks, mountains and valleys.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dog

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 711645766848