Enjoy wildlife, animals and mountains while helping out in Queensland, Australia




Favourited 515 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    PLEASE PROVIDE PREFERRED DATES and please read the profile carefully before asking questions.

    We are Barb and Dave and we live in wildlife country just north of Toowoomba and we have just a few horses. We are looking for a girl or couple of girls to help out. We would consider anyone (male or female) who is a qualified or experienced house painter :-)). We don't take single fellows/blokes/men.

    I have two horses, one of which I compete in dressage to medium level (flying change, half pass, collected work etc, not sure what level that is in Europe), and a companion horse. Our neighbours also have horses and are very keen for them to be ridden, so we always have extra for our travellers. If you are a good rider, you can come out with me riding or if you are two friends you can take the horses out trail riding together. I compete once or twice a month from March to November and I love to take travellers with me to see how it all works.

    The main jobs you will do at the moment will be weeding! We have had so much rain (no bushfires near us and the fire season is well and truly over in Queensland) that we are being overrun with greenery. Also some cleaning , although we have a regular cleaner, gardening and help me with some of the bigger jobs outside and with the horses - the neighbour's horse will need some ground training to make him a bit more supple as well as lots of riding. I also need help scanning a heap of old photos and sorting them out - a time consuming job that I haven't been able to get started on. If you are a painter, all of our window frames and sills need repainting even thought the house is only nine years old. Our dog Dig can run all day and would love a running or bike riding partner too! I have an extended holiday from March to July, so I will be working with you much of the time, and we will have some time to do a day trip here and there on time off.

    You will have your own room and usually your own bathroom, depending on what's happening when you come. You will help about 25 hours a week, and we are flexible about when you do this - so if you have your own car, you can take off for a few days at a time to explore the area. If you don't have your own transport, we will make sure you get around to explore the area and Toowoomba and our great street art trail. Toowoomba is also known for its gardens with Carnival,of Flowers in a few weeks, with a couple of rock concerts and lots of exhibitions from art to teapots ( and flowers, lots of flowers). We are happy to take you out on day trips too, and I am often trekking off somewhere interesting to do horse stuff (competitions, to my coaches etc).

    You can fly to Toowoomba from Melbourne or Sydney, or travel by bus from Brisbane, and we will pick you up from Toowoomba. We are an absolutely no smoking family. We are pretty easy going, and LOVE travellers that have lots of commonsense :-)) We have a dog and a cat that live inside, so it's a really great place if you are missing your dog or cat at home.

    A couple of friends together is fine - it can be very quiet and it's always more fun to share with a friend. Dave works on an oil rig and might be home while you are staying, but usually away. No vegetarians or vegans please. Gluten free travellers are easy - my daughter is gluten intolerant and we are used to it. If you are a Drama Queen about spiders, insects and small creatures, probably best to stay in the city 😄.

    We can't sign visas 😒, but we do live near many places that offer farm work - lime, blueberry and avocado orchards and several packing sheds. Avocadoes start in June, blueberry picking starts toward the end of the year and a neighbour periodically needs people to help look after his lime trees and mushrooms. We are happy for you to use our place as a base to look for work.

    We will be away from June 3 - July 7 so won't take travellers then.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to share special Australian food experiences (Tim Tams, lamingtons, pavlova, barbecues, lamb and kangaroo); our place is a haven for birdwatchers and people who love wildlife, with wallabies visiting most days, a diamond python (a good snake) living in the shed and kangaroos living just down the road. We will also teach you to do a Tim Tam Slam!

  • Help


    Cleaning stables three or four days a weekend helping a little with the horses
    Cleaning up kitchen and wiping down benches after breakfast and dinner.
    Vacuuming house once a week and checking/sweeping kitchen floor in between.
    Hanging out and gathering in washing.
    Preparation of the occasional meal.
    Helping us with the occasional bigger job such as clearing paddocks or fencing, painting, gardening, cleaning windows and walls, washing and cleaning out vehicles.
    Walk the dogs.
    Cleaning windows
    Weeding and other gardening

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Own very large room in a new house with a comfortable queen size bed; wireless internet; own bathroom or share bathroom depending if we have other visitors staying.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of trails for mountain biking and walking (we have bikes), and plenty of wildlife to see. We occasionally go camping or take our travellers on day trips, and if we are doing something our travellers come with us, so you will learn a lot!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours - Mainly house cleaning, but it depends on your skills. We are on bushfire cleanup the next few months, so plenty of outdoor stuff.. It's about four-five hours a day, not counting riding.

Host ref number: 11298831694d