Have some family time in Armidale, Nsw Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4. We used to travel but have settled in Armidale 2 years ago. We dont have any family nearby and as we both are working it makes it hard at times to juggle childcare, chores etc.
    We are a bilingual family and at home we speak English and Flemish/Dutch.

    We would love to welcome travelers for a couple of days that can help us with the garden, some cleaning and exchange language, skills , experiences, laughter etc. We love to learn from others. When traveling our children learned to be open and understanding to others and their cultures. It would be really nice if they can keep that skill even now we stopped traveling.

    You will have your own room (double bed, desk, build in cupboard). The bathroom is shared with us but we do have a second toilet. Like everywhere in Australia it is handy to have a car. Saying that, you can easily walk to the centre of town, or hop on a bus.

    Even though Armidale is a couple of hours inland and for some travelers not on the most chosen coastal route, it has lots of nice national parks, waterfalls , and a bit of history to it with several churches and of course the university.
    It is also a bit cooler if you are feeling the heat at the coast. And if you are homesick we have autumn and it gets cold in winter. (Until the sun comes out lol)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multicultural family and we speak 2 languages at home. We don't cook the Australian food but use a bit off all the meals we enjoyed when traveling. (vegetarian )
    We do organise a get together with our friends like an open house once in a while. We basicaly open our home to those we have met and enjoy chats, make music, share a dish and see how our friends make bonds with others. :-)

    We would love it if you could speak your mother tongue with our children and we love to help you out with your English if needed or desired.

  • Help

    Help

    You don't need any specific skills. We just like some help in our garden to trim some bushes, mow the lawn and cut the edges.
    Inside it might be some vacuuming and washing windows (as we don't often get to that.)
    Maybe help organise the children's play area so the toys are visual and they know how to keep the room tidy at the end of the day. Of course helping to keep the kitchen tidy after a meal would be appreciated.

    If the kids got to know toy and they are at ease with you, we might like to sneak out for dinner by candle light 😊

    If you do speak another language than English we would appreciate it if you could talk it with the kids while playing. We are happy to help with your English if needed and desired.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch English Spanish some German french thai

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 room with double bed and build in cupboard a desk and lots of light.
    Shared bathroom with shower or bath and toilet and a second toilet on the other endof the house
    Large indoor and outdoor spaces. we don't have television but Internet is accessible.
    We normally have a grab your own breakfast, make lunches on working days and have dinner around 5 if we can be organised as our youngest goes to bed at 6. If needed the children eat without us and our dinner becomes theirs the following night 😊

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Easy walk into town
    They also have a free bus tour of armidale wich we enjoyed and learned a lot from.
    If you have got a car their are lot of nice places to visit for hikes
    And a lot cooler than the coast 😊

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 111583111971