Join our family&farm "in the wood" routine - Tuscia, center Italy

updated
Country

Italy

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Francesca and Sergio with our joyful 2 years old Selva. We live in a characteristic apartment in the small "tufo" town of Farnese, Lazio, center of Italy. We are projecting (and from the spring of 2019 building) an eco-house in our 3 hectares field with olive trees and wood, 5 km from the town, and hope to move there sooooon!

    We are permaculture enthusiasts and always studying how to live in better armony with nature and others. We do a lot of recycling, reuse, ecological choises in our daily routine and we want to host people who really care too.
    I sew, and I do some communication for a local democratic school. I am also willing to practicing in natural dyeing fabrics. Sergio makes organic extravergine olive oil, vegetables and natural wine. He also works few hours a day, from home, for a publishing house.
    We are open minded, love diversity, very courious and love to learn from others. We are studying non-violent communication and love to accept and be respectful with others even when there are problems.
    We are vegan, and we ask hosts to share this habit with us.

    In winter we host in house. In spring-summer in a simple but comfortable roulotte in our field, for a complete nature immersion... No buses or other way to go to the town if we don't have to come and go in the same day (rare): only feets, 30 minutes walk.
    We are sometimes pleased to share our routine and also some discovery all around, but we like people who can be independent.
    Be aware that in Farnese passes only few buses, only in the daylight: check timetable at or download the app "BusCotral".
    To whom who are able to fix them (changing wheels, a pedal, oil, sanding and painting) we can land two old bicycle (one mountain bike and one city bike).

    This is a straordinary land full of very ancient history and at the same time wild nature. We are sorrounded by woods ("Riserva Naturale Selva del Lamone") with waterfalls and guided pathways; at 15 minutes by car from natural thermal water (and one hour to the best that is for us "Terme di S. Filippo") and beatiful waterfalls (es. Cascata del Salabrone) and lakes (Lago di Bolsena, Lago di Mezzano); 20-30 minutes to ancient towns, like Pitigliano, Bolsena and Sorano; 30 minutes from seaside like Argentario and mountains Amiata.
    In this area there are also interesting local tiny museums ("Simulabo").
    Farnese in itself it's a very small town, but nice and welcoming.
    In winter is a little more difficult to go around, for the cold weather (January-February) and for the scarce buses: if you don't have car you have to be very determinated and organized, or like to stay in the nature most of the time.

    We offer a place to sleep, vegan organic breakfast, lunch and dinner for around 5 hours of help a day, 5 days a week. We expect you to be a part of the family, for duties too, like cooking and washing dishes by turns with us. And we expect you to clean your own space and leave it (room and bathroom, or roulotte) as you found it.
    If you decide to come with us in your free time we expect you to pay for yourself or to prepare something at home to bring.
    We are very careful about waste and ecology and we ask for the same attention, that it means to have a shower only when necessary, wash dishes with the less detergent and water possible, and so on.
    We would like to have some help in the making of our new vegetable forest-garden / building a wooden door for the warehouse-cave / painting the roulotte (for artisty people!) / seasonal works in the olives.

    How to reach us: at the train stops of Montalto di Castro or Viterbo () you can take a bus Cotral () to Farnese.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visit the beauties of this place, learn some Italian, and italian cousine, some permaculture principles, olive tree harvesting, wine making, knowing us and our friend, learn from a little baby how to live simply, laugh and rest!

  • Help

    Help

    Making of our new vegetable forest-garden / building a wooden door for the warehouse-cave / working at the vegetable garden / seasonal works in the olives grove.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Winter: private room and bathroom in a 90 mq apartment in the center of the town.
    Spring-Summer-Autumn: cozy roulotte with off the grid electricity, water and gas, kitchen, bed and sofa in our field sorrounded by wood 5 km from town (no buses, only drives or feets).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can do all sort of things, depending of the weather of course. In winter you can take long walk in the wood, visit town (ex. Pitigliano) and interesting local museums ("Simulabo"), play our pianoforte, read a book (we have some in english and a local library), getting to know what permaculture is (sustainable design of practical life and more), partecipate in local life and event, and so on...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week





Host ref number: 968256584792