Help me on Skopelos Island, Greece

Favourited 859 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I am an English hiking guide and for 30 years have lived in a traditional stone cottage in Skopelos town. I still do a bit of guiding but now concentrate more on my trail clearing project; to keep the ancient heritage stone paths open for hikers. This is tough, tiring and dirty but rewarding work; cutting away vegetation, sawing down trees, moving logs and digging out and exposing the old cobbled trails. This work is for April, May, June and September, October only, as it's too hot the rest of the time. Hang out with me or do your own thing on days off.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Help


    Due to the remoteness of Skopelos, this assignment could be considered with work on Evia/Volos/Pelion (mainland) or Skiathos/Alonissos. Nearest airport is Skiathos, then Volos, then Thessaloniki, then Athens. Two hourly bus service from Athens to Ag. Konstantinos or Evia (Mandouthi) and Volos, plus Thessaloniki to Volos. Ferry takes about 3 hours from the mainland.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Skopelos is a beautiful island. Volunteers will get to see remote parts of the island and meet the locals who offer hospitality.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Greek

  • Accommodation


    The hoteliers union of Skopelos offer free twin bedded accommodation. Singles may have to share. Extra accommodation for one person is at my house. Shared facilities as my guest. Meals are prepared at my house. Breakfast and evening meal on working days.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This work would suit a strong, practical person who loves nature and the outdoors. If you are staying in my house: Vegetarian food is prepared. No food on days off as I usually eat at a taverna when you are welcome too of course but I can't foot the bill! Join me on my guided hiking days to see more of the island or do your own thing. IF WE HAVE CORRESPONDED AND FIXED DATES, PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU CAN'T MAKE IT AS YOUR SLOT CAN BE USED BY SOMEONE WHO REALLY WANTS TO COME AND HELP. THANK YOU. I would prefer volunteers over the age of 21. No singles who 'have a friend'. You MUST either have a single account, and this means you arrive alone, or a joint account with joint profiles, if there are two of you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 942895117217