Come be a big sister to our kids and get to practice your English or French in Quebec, Canada

updated
Country

Canada

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    [Update] We can host short term from August 15 2019 for 2-3 weeks until Sept 6th
    After that, we are available to host Dec 15 2019 and later :)


    We are a family of 5, Kayla age 7, Kingston 5.5 and Princeton 2 years old.

    In month of August it will be spending time and watching the 2 older kids. In Dec & later, the schedule is for before and after school.

    We’re flexible on days/hours so this is great for someone who wants to work + travel + sightsee.

    What we need help with:
    -Play with the kids, doing crafts, read books, take them to the local parks
    -Do outdoors activities like soccer, riding bikes etc.
    -Some cooking & food prep is involved
    -Help with general tidying up in relation to the kids such as putting away toys, help making their bed and their laundry will also be required. Please note we are not looking for a maid we have a cleaning lady that comes every 2 weeks but we do require help to maintain it =)

    We want someone who's an older sister or is used to a big family. The kids are used to having au pairs around so they adapt quickly to new friends =) We need someone independent but who can also adapt to us. We also speak French! We can host a couple in August but in Dec & later we have room for only 1 girl (sorry we prefer females for now)

    Other Info:
    -Non religious but welcome to come with yours as long as you're not expecting us to practice :)
    -We do eat meats - if you're a vegetarian or vegan we will try to accommodate as best we can
    -We are happy to offer a lift to the bus or train station (schedule permits) or if we are headed in a direction will offer a ride
    -Schedule can be flexible and we can offer other tasks besides child care
    -Unlimited wifi + private bedroom + private bathroom

    Things to do or See in our Area:
    -Walking distance to multiple cafes or shops
    -We live 1 street away from the water where there are walking paths or bike paths. Beautiful views of Lac du Deux Montagnes
    -15-20 min drive to local equestrian clubs for horseback riding. Beautiful trails and nature paths
    -20 min drive to Mont Rigaud, a great place to hike or ski
    -10 min drive to EcoMuseum, a zoo that show cases animals from Quebec
    -1h train ride to downtown Montreal
    & many more!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you're looking for a family experience then we'll be for you. We've hosted au pairs before and loved exchanging cultures and the kids throughly enjoy the experience and making new friends. We are a young mixed family in our 30s (Mom is from Laos/Thailand and husband is from Iran) but both grew up in Canada so we really are the modern family =)

  • Help

    Help

    We require someone to help get the kids ready in the morning by preparing their lunch, getting them dressed and walking to bus stop. After school, pick up from bus stop, snack and help with some homework (nothing hard as it's grade 1 and Kindergarden) During the day we'd need help with some general cleaning/chores such as doing the kids laundry and folding, unloading the dishwasher etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    -Private bedroom in basement, queen size bed with good sized TV with netflix.
    -Unlimited wifi and also have access to desk top computer in basement.
    -Private bathroom also in basement with shower, sink and toilet.
    -We try to plan our meals for the week but we eat dinner together. You're welcome to join us or cook your own meals. We eat a variety of food and have no restrictions or allergies. We can host a vegetarian or vegan as well as long as you're ok with us cooking meats.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small city with a population of about 30 thousand people. It's the suburbs but very quiet and good chance to escape the city. We are a 30 min drive or 1h train ride from downtown Montreal (we're happy to drop you off at the train station or bus if you wish) We're quite flexible with additional days off if need be to explore

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15h to 25h a week

Kids skating with some friends
Our first workaway experience! We hosted Sam & Alex for almost 3 weeks :)
Our 3 kids with our first workaway couple we hosted! The kids loved them
Our 3 kids :)
Our house ! (Obviously the photos are from summer!)
@ Parc Omega in Montebello



Host ref number: 925432478653