Help me in a lovely tiny town in Dordogne, France

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    23/02/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a recently retired ex member of the NHS workforce and my husband and I own a three gite complex with a large main Maison de Maître close to the centre of our lovely Dordogne tiny town (Piegut Pluviers).
    The complex is set on 1.5 hectares of land and we have a large swimming pool.
    My husband works in the UK and is away for all but one weekend in two so due to poor health, I need help with keeping the garden neat, the weeds down and general odd jobs as well as help with keeping the pool clean for our guests in the summer months. Help with changeovers would also be welcome at times when we have a high turnover.
    I have a double room and a separate bathroom on a separate floor in the main house for a single female or couple who want to help me make a success of my Gites business whilst having plenty of time to explore the beautiful Périgord Limousin National Park which surrounds us here. Piegut has all amenities and several bars and restaurants but mainly it is very friendly. Hopefully there would be other people doing similar things in the vicinity to mix with.
    I am able to help if an applicant needed help to perfect their English and can understand French better than I can speak it but would welcome help to perfect that too.
    I would be happy to hear from anyone who feels that they could fit into my life and join my small but dedicated group of people who make my business possible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, weeding general keeping the property smart. Watering plants in a dry summer and helping with the swimming pool maintenance and cleaning. Occasional help with cleaning and changing beds when busy in the Gites. Odd jobs (nothing too heavy as I have people to do the main mowing etc). General cleaning in the main house.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help with English language tuition and I would love whoever comes to become part of the family whilst here. There will be plenty of free time to explore the area and it might be possible to make a vehicle available to a competent driver.
    I can offer alternative interests as I am trained in Reiki and experienced in meditation etc if people are interested.
    I have a cat so whoever is interested must like animals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bedroom in the main house on a separate floor to my husband and I and with its own bathroom. A television can be provided if wanted. Live and eat separately or en famille as wanted.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a great location for exploring the Dordogne and as mentioned above, a vehicle may be able to be made available for a competent driver. We are just a few kilometres away from a large leisure lake with a beach and canoeing which also has volleyball areas where the young people of the area meet and play. There is a cafe and a restaurant as well there and overall it is a very lively area.
    Summer in the Gites is very busy with guests coming and going but when it is quiet I like to take advantage of the respite. Volunteers are welcome to join me in being quiet or not. I like conversation and general socialising and often have barbecues in the evening outside under the tonelle which a volunteer would be welcome to join in with.
    I would like a volunteer to feel comfortable and at peace here as I do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 894474836154