Looking for someone who wants to live off-grid, cook, help in the garden and loves teenagers and dogs. BC - Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have been building a sustainable, off-the-grid cob village for the past 10 years. My daughter, her 3 little dogs and cat, and our free-range, organic chickens all seem to thrive here.

    I'm looking for someone who loves to cook with local, fresh, organic ingredients. You'll have 2 sunovens to use; for cloudy days, there is a wood cookstove and a two burner propane stove. No experience with any of these is necessary, they are very easy to use.

    Our garden provides much of our food year-round and our neighbours add to that. The 5 laying hens are happy and we're raising 17 chicks right now!

    I'm continuing to finish our main house, another cob structure. The limiting factor for working on it is needing to cook and garden, so that's where you come in!

    We host Natural Building workshops throughout the summer and have a professional cook for those weeks. There's so much to do on Lasqueti Island, you'll never be short of projects and interests.

    We get around by bike and have two extra bikes for guests; you'd be welcome to use one.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try to live as sustainably as we can and rarely use fossil fuels in any way. We love our lives and can show you that life without stuff can be very enjoyable and relatively easy. Lasqueti has lots to offer and we can connect you to others that may be even more interesting to you.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping with the cooking of 3 meals a day for the 5 days a week you are working would be ideal. You'll cook from scratch in a very well equipped but small kitchen and clean up after yourself. Aside from eggs and yogurt (homemade), our ingredients are vegan/vegetarian. We have lots of easy recipes for both meals and condiments.

    My daughter and I eat a lot since we work hard physically all day but am not picky in terms of taste.

    I'm glad to do our eating dishes at the end of each day unless you prefer to do those with your cooking pots.

    Gardening here primarily means watering everyday. The chickens love our kale so culling older leaves and pulling unwanted plants (grass in particular) gives the chickens a tasty snack. An hour a day would be plenty of time for watering without rushing and being water-wise.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English is fluent; French, Spanish, German, Krio are not fluent but spoken

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be welcome to tent for as long as you'd like and have access to cool or hot showers. If you need more than a place to tent, we can arrange for our Guest Tent that is an old prospector's tent on a cedar platform to be available for part of your stay. Depending on timing, one of our cob cottages could also be available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is in a forest on a hill, overlooking a marsh down a very quiet road, accessible only by passenger ferry. There is a great swimming area about 4km away (20 minutes by bike) and a quiet rocky beach about 30 minutes away by jogging.

    Water use at our home is VERY limited; we have enough for drinking, cooking and washing, but long showers or baths are not at all available except during the rainy season (Nov-Mar). We collect our own water from a seasonal spring. Grey (used) water is used in the garden.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 883732378922