Help with racing-sleddogs in North Norway


Favourited 1506 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register


  • Description


    We are primarily a Siberian husky kennel with 50 siberian huskies, 3 australian shepherds, some reindeer, located in Varangerbotn, North Norway. In summer we usually have puppies, and a lot of work with socialization of them. In autumn we have a lot of work with the reindeer - marking calves and slaughtering. In winter we compete in dog-races in addition to work with tourists.

    Our experience so far is that if you are a vegetarian, our place is not the correct place for you. Making food for the dogs, and for us self and taking part in the slaughtering of reindeer, has proven to be too difficult for vegetarians.

    Please also notice that our house and dog-kennel is located in the forest with no next door neighbors, and you will work most of your time alone. If you like to be around a lot of people all the time, this is not the correct place for you. If you are not in balance with yourself, it might be too isolated for you.

    The work with our animals has to be done in every weather – even if the temperature drops to -30°C or more! The walks with the puppies, especially in summer/autumn, takes place in a wet, swampy area with mosquitos.

    Is this something for you?
    - You are minimum 20 years old
    - You are ready for hard physical work
    - You are hard working, responsible and flexible
    - You are in good physical shape
    - You are independent and able to work alone
    - You have drivers license.

    If you are still interested please take a look at the calendar to see when we can offer you volunteer work.

    Your application should include:
    - Background information about yourself
    - Earlier working experiences (For example your CV with referances)
    - Period you want to work for us
    - Intentions to come to our farm
    - Language skills
    - Allergies or special dietary requirements
    - Anything else that you think is important for us to know

    We have a trial period of 2 weeks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help


    Different time of the year the working environment is very much different due to weather season and working tasks change repeatedly.

    The volunteer work from september to april:
    - Feeding and watering dogs
    - Cleaning dog-yards
    - Take care of puppies
    - Walking and socialization of puppies
    - Chop meat for the dogs with an axe
    - Shoveling snow
    - Take care of the dogs at home while we are on the dog-races
    - Help with preparing equipment and food for dogs and musher for the dog-races
    - Helping with cutting reindeer meat and packing it in the freezer
    - General housework, cleaning
    - Preparing dog-teams for tourists
    - Dog-training

    The volunteer work from may to september:
    - Feeding and watering dogs
    - Cleaning dog-yards
    - Take care of puppies
    - Walking and socialization of puppies (the trips take place in a swampy, wet terrain with a lot of mosquitos in june/july)
    - Picking berries (In august/september)
    - Fencing
    - Painting
    - Helping out in the garden
    - Help with training the dogs with a training cart when the temperatures are ok
    - General housework, cleaning

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, Sami, English

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bedroom, living room and bathroom, and you will share kitchen with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are remote, with only 900 inhabitants in the entire municipality. There is a village 5km away with a restaurant and bar and a few other things. It is possible to get a bus to the nearby towns. Tana Bru is 20km away, Vadsø 55km and Kirkenes 120km. These places have amenities like cinemas, pubs, shopping centres etc.

    The nearest airports are Kirkenes and Vadsø, although it is probably cheaper and more convenient to fly to Kirkenes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about huskies, their behavour, dogsledding, dogcare and also about the sami culture. You will learn to live a life were you are not always following the clock. Responsibilities and tasks are changing frequently by the weather.
    What you learn here depends on how active, motivated and receptive you are, and what time of year you are coming here.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    About 5 hours 5 days a week, some days less, some days more. Work is endless when you have animals and the more time you spend around the animals, the happier they are! :)

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 835545541266