Join our little educational farm, not-for-profit workshops and enjoy the rustic, riverside life in Võrumaa, Estonia.

  • Estonia
  • Favourited 263 times
  • Last activity: 13 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Tere! we are a couple running a small Not-for-profit in the south of Estonia.

    We organise events and workshops to promote more sustainable living and environmental awareness. We currently do this from an old formerly abandoned farm without a shower. We are the right place if you love simple living . The only place to refresh/wash daily is the river who is usually quite cold! Be warned! We have a little sauna we heat up every week or so.

    We are working on making some sustainable solutions to provide a little more ease and comfort, but these will develop over the coming years. We are looking for adventurous volunteers who love to live close to nature.

    Our focus in 2023 is developing our site for more comfortable hosting of small groups for overnight workshops.
    The first priority is expanding the first stages of a 0.5 hectare food forest and some more food production in permaculture/nature-inspired gardens. We also will be building something most of the time!

    Rea loves plants, trees, foraging, gardening, yoga, dancing and making pizza in the old bread oven in our home.
    Justin loves designing garden elements, eco-building and spending time in natural landscapes such as our place. He is currently trying to further his knowledge on mushrooms and passive greenhouses!
    Paabu is our little girl born in our kitchen in September 2022. At the minute she is largely focused on experimenting with her voice, smiling and breast milk. Loves new people and play.
    Puri loves people and playing with her neighbour dogs and in the river. (4 year-old)
    Pastinaak is a longhaired cosy and affectionate cat (age unknown)
    Osh-Tisch is funny grey kitten who likes to sleep on her face.
    There are also many chickens with too many names to list and two funny geese named Rupert and Aka.

    The house and old barn sit next to the Piusa river in a landscape protection area. The block of land is 10 hectares, most of which is steep, rolling, forested valley-side rising above the river. Down by the house is a flowering natural meadow. And our garden and little field.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life here is a blend of traditional Estonian countryside life, with some more modern sustainable ideas here and there. Between us we have fairly wide experience in growing things and building things in more ecofriendly ways but we are by no means experts! These things seem to us best learnt by doing and sharing. Mostly we try to always do something a little new so we are always gaining new skills and experimenting. You might learn about foraging for mushrooms or building a green roof, all dependant on when you come, what we are up to, and what you would like to put your energies towards.
    Rea is an Estonian local so can give some language tips. Justin is still learning!

  • Help


    2023 plans...

    Food forest development, planting
    Experimental low light planting in the forest.
    Propagating and grafting
    More hugelkultur garden beds.
    Enlarging no-dig field
    Foraging for forest foods and medicinal herbs
    Harvesting and food preservation


    Finishing touches on our greenhouses
    Foundation and Timber frame repairs to barn
    Building second composting toilet
    New winter chicken house
    Weaving tunnels and living structures
    Green-roofing the wood shed
    Willow fence to extend chicken area

    Mowing with scythe
    Firewood cutting and stacking
    Chipping ramial chip for garden
    Painting signs
    Playing with Puri
    Animal care
    General gardening, harvest, seed collection and preservation

    Random tasks around the farm area and river....

    If you have any talents or skills you would like to use please let us know. So we can plan our time together somewhat.

    We have some workshops, gatherings and pop up cafes planned.

    We get few personal requests, and many one sentence asks. To show us that you have read and understood our profile and really want to join our life for some weeks, please include in your request:
    - A reference to us or our animals by name
    - An explanation of what specifically about our project interests you.
    - A quick mention of what skills you have or would like to develop with us. (no previous skills required, just like to know if you only want to be around the garden or dislike cooking etc.)
    - A mention of which of our rustic accommodation options suit you best.


  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Estonian: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    There are a few choices.. You can bring a tent and camp in the meadow near the house or our campsite a short walk away. We can provide a tent if you give us some notice. Space for campers
    We have several unheated spaces in our house and barn you can choose from in the warmer months.


    Our household avoids eating any meat from the store/mass production. Most of our fresh food comes from our garden, friends gardens or the forest. We don't cook meat but at times fish appears. Our daily diet is usually vegetarian friendly. Vegans welcome.
    If you want something other than porridge for your breakfast then please bring your own. We will provide basic ingredients for a hearty lunch and light dinner. We can share cooking between us. We have plenty of teas and chaga (mushroom tea coffee substitute).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Across the river is this state park hiking and cycling trail:

    If you go north, you reach the Piusa sandstone cliffs and local pottery store, south you reach Vana-Vastseliina and the preserved ruins of a Livonian castle. The town of Obinitsa nearby has an art gallery, seto-culture farm museum, and a dramatic swimming lake.
    There is also much forest to explore on days off.
    Public transport is not great for day trips, but much exploring can be done by bike or foot.
    The nearest village is Vastseliina, library, supermarket, postoffice etc. This can be reached 10km by dirt roads or 15km by walking trail by the river. 30km away is the bigger town Võru and Tartu is 100km north.

    Leaving and arriving is best by train to Koidula station where we can collect you by car. The train website is elron.ee. All Estonian trains have ticket people you can buy on the train or prebuy on the website for a very small discount.
    In summer you can get off at Piusa for a 15km walk along forest trails to our door.

    Otherwise Koidula is best for us to pick you up.

    You can also reach us from Võru by a bus to Vastseliina where you will need to hitch or be picked up by us!

    We like to work hard, in summer we rise around 8am splash in the river and plan the day. We appreciate people who put energy and creativity into any task they undertake. Well done for reading all this, we are looking forward to reading about you! Please be sure to reference some names of our pets and explain specifically what parts of our listing are of interest to you. We do get a lot of 3 sentence requests! X

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Must be dog, cat and chicken friendly!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 895282584134

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)

Help on a small family farm in the Lahemaa National Park in the northern part of Estonia, Uuri
Help to rescue a family farm from 1920's in Suislepa village, in the middle of Estonia