Volunteer at a Quinta in Nogueirinha, Central Portugal.

Favourited 199 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register


  • Description


    I'm Patrick, an Englishman living on a traditional 'quinta' in Nogueirinha near Oliveira do Hospital in central Portugal, I share it with my three dogs & two cats. I sometimes help a friend at another quinta at Loriga in the Serra da Estrela so I'm kept pretty busy

    I'm a semi-retired, construction contractor with extensive experience of property renovation, something I'm still involved in. I need someone to help with a wide variety of work, some building, some land maintenance, some gardening, some animal care, in fact a really wide range of activities ensuring volunteers won't get bored!

    In addition to the 'exciting' practical stuff, there's also some mundane stuff to do, like cleaning and maintaining the house, walking the dogs, washing clothes, shopping and cooking, all made easier with more than one pair of hands!

    Volunteers are based at Nogueirinha unless they are particularly hardy and feel drawn to stay at the Loriga quinta, best to have a look first! Nogueirinha is a typical quiet Portuguese rural village where I'm the only English speaker. There is a small shop, with bar a couple of minutes walk away, there's also an 'Associacao' (Social Club) with internet access.

    If you've read this far and it sounds interesting, maybe have a look at my past volunteer reviews below, then contact me to discuss how we can possibly work together.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help


    I like my volunteers to integrate at all levels, we all have areas where we excel and others where we are barely competent so I believe it's good for us to learn from each other.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little Portuguese

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers have their own room and bathroom facilities. Internet is located at the local 'Associacao' where they can enjoy a beer as they surf!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Due to the terrain, volunteers need to be 100% physically and mentally fit. Due to the risk of forest fire and the environment in general, I only host non smokers. The nearest main town (for bus transport) is Oliveira do Hospital (6Km). There isn't a railway station nearby, the nearest being at Nelas (35Km, approx 45 minutes). The quinta is not suitable for children due to a plethora of hazards including wells and mines (water not land!).

    The large cities of Coimbra & Viseu are both about an hours drive away (Regular luxury coaches to Coimbra). The Spanish border is about an hour away by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours max

My Photo Album

Elaine & Tamera enjoy bottles of Superbock in the local bar on 16th April 2014, the owner 'Jose Maria' looks on!
Jemma & Erin enjoying an after work 'cocktail in the local bar on 13th April 2014!
Elaine, Erin, Jemma & Patrick enjoying the snow on the Serra da Estrela on 12th April 2014
Vince and Kailey enjoying a drink at Lagares da Beira Carnival on 4th March 2014
Richard (Ricardus) enjoying an 'after work' beer in 'Casa Benfica' (the local cafe) in January 2014.
Son Tae Ik (known as 'Sonic') enjoys late night karaoke with José Duarte in Nogueirinha on 20th August 2013
Roberto & Patrick busy bagging Potatoes, 17th August 2013
Pod, Roberto, Juliette, Elaine & Patrick, 25th August 2013
30th July 2013, Amanda, Patrick & Elaine with Rrrags and Daisy at the summit of the Serra da Estrela (1993 metres)
Ian & Claire wine tasting at the Festa do Queijo in Oliveira do Hospital on 9th March 2013
Patrick, Diogo, Tiago, Rrrags & John at the Serra da Estrela on 20th March 2013
Margherita and an unknown TV presenter at Lagares da Beira carnival (Feb 2013)
Eduardo, Emilie, Elaine & Patrick near the summit of the Serra da Estrela close to 'Nossa Senhora da Boa Estrela'.
This is the lower level where visitors stay, there is one large bed/sitting room, a curtained doorway leads to a shower room and separate toilet with washbasin.
We have clear views of the Serra da Estrela, the snow doesn't always come down this far!
We added the canopy at the main door this year (2012) it lets us sit outside without getting too hot in the summer and gives us a bit more protection on the wet days.
This is a distant view of the house and lower part of the land where we grow our crops (or not depending on the amount of water available).
This is the view from the upper terrace toward the Serra da Estrela which is about 20Km away.
This view is taken from the terrace, it shows one of the veg' plots after rotavating. The water mine (from where we get our domestic water) is also shown.
Here are the animals (Daisy & Rrrags the dogs) with two of the cats (brothers Preto & Branco) enjoying a relaxing sleep in front of the fire!

Host ref number: 796867855741