Help us out on our small horse farm, close to Tønsberg, Norways oldest city.

Country

Norway

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: Maximum stay,14 days (our listing is really popular)

    Our place is a place of peace. In the heart of Vestfold in eastern Norway, old viking territory, is our small horse farm. Close to Tønsberg, Norways oldest city, in a small town called Revetal, surrounded by fields and forests, facing the sun, is a beautiful place to spend some time. Here you can be a part of a tribe and join our community.

    This is a down to earth place. We grow our own vegetables. Our horses live in a paddock paradise with no iron. They are barefoot and we ride them bitless.

    About us: The household consists of mum Line and father Jan-Erik in their 50’s, 3 sisters Anca 15, Sara 17 and Synne 20 years old, their older brother Mats 23, is a police student living in another city.
    Our 2 great danes Emma&Lacie lives in the house with us and our 3 cats. We’re an easy going bunch and Villa Solsiden is a peaceful place, in our opinion, a little slice of heaven on earth.


    July is for family, so we are not able to host anyone during this month.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a area rich of old history.
    You will learn a lot of different things, there is always many types of work that we need to get done.

    You’ll be expected to work 20 - 25 hours a week in exchange for room, meals and cultural input such as a visit to the viking museum, a trip to «Worlds end» on the island of Tjøme amongst others. Every evening we gather in the large kitchen for dinner, and the food here is excellent. We enjoy meat, gluten, dairy, the occational chocolate etc. So folks with fussy dietary requirements may as well stop reading here.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always something to do. Caring for the animals, repairing fences, construction work, gardening and general maintenance like: Painting, cleaning, etc.

    We are looking for people that are not afraid of getting their hands dirty and get the job done. What you don't know, we will teach you if you're willing to learn.


    2019

    Winter: We’ll work on reinforcing the fences, general maintenance and animal care.
    Spring: Getting garden and park ready, general maintenance, construction work: build a barn.
    Summer: Taking care of the garden and park, animals, construction work.
    Autumn: Closing the place down for winter, harvest, finishing up the barn, animal care.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a little cabin or a well equipped trailor.
    The cabin takes 2-4 people, we have a double bed and a bunk bed for 2. If you choose to live in the cabin, you need to share bathroom and kitchen with our family.

    The trailor have 1 double bed and its possible to make 2 more beds if its in need of it. This trailor is well equipped with a small kitchen and a tiny bathroom.

    The highlight of the day is to share a meal in the afternoon, after the work is done. We appriciate it if people would like to cook or take part in the process of making the meal. We will provide you with the food you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Within reach is beautiful beaches, lake to go swimming in, towns to visit. We enjoy taking our guests to intresting sights and places, to show them around in our beautiful area.
    If you like to go riding, we got horses and beautiful trails trough the forests.
    There will also be planty of time to chill and enjoy life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 778843189619