A place you would love to stay in Yilan, Taiwan

updated
Country

Taiwan

Favourited 184 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    900

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers!

    I am Homgoo. I welcome you to my quiet and peaceful workshop to share and experience a simple laid back life at the foothills of Taiwan's Snowy Mountain Range - where the air is clean, the pace is slow and the people are warm and welcoming.

    I used to be a tour consultant in Australia. I returned to Taiwan in 2015 and found a place to do something meaningful for my grandma and I. I am currently transforming my father's old warehouse into a workshop, camp site and an organic permaculture garden. I use upcycling methods to create new products and furniture. In the long term, I would like to create a co-working, knowledge sharing environment between both workawayers and the elderly and younger residents of Yilan.

    Workawayer tasks are varied and dependent on the season and progress of the project. Currently, I need help with organic farming, gardening, landscaping, permaculture and upcycling construction. You may also come up with ideas or a project that you may like to work on while you are here. I am open to your input on areas where you have a skill or experience.

    Daily routine:
    Morning : Join the fitness class with the elderly.
    Afternoon: Workshop project. (garden/ upcycling / weeding/ campsite / aquaponics)
    Evening: Experience sharing with the youth. (once fortnightly)
    You don't need to join all the classes, and we can see which is suitable for you or not. Main job is for the workshop project.

    While you are applying , please include the following questions.
    1.Date when you're available, length of your stay.
    2.Your name, Nationality, FB or IG or anything to let me know a bit more about you.
    3.Why do you want to participate in my project? Anything in particular that sounds interesting to you?
    4.What specific skill can you offer to my project?
    5.What else should I know about you? Allergic to anything?

    If you've read this listing to the end, please include (YilanHomgoo) into your application to let me know that you have read and agreed with all of this.
    Please feel free to email me with any questions. I take volunteers for at least 8 days. Please state how long you would like to stay when you reply and specify the period of your stay. Thank you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Care
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Maybe you could learn something from elderly people and know Taiwanese traditional art.
    Get a good chance to meet local elderly people and Uni students.
    Also,my place is located near the foot of mountain beside waterfalls and a stream. You can breathe fresh air in the morning and even have a swim in the stream in summer. There are hot springs and surfing spots nearby.
    I would like you to stay more than two weeks, but you can stay less subject to discussion.

  • Help

    Help

    #eco-friendly gardening
    #carpentry
    #handicraft skill / upcycling
    #art painting
    #anything you can teach the elderly. (fitness training/ games)
    #camp site
    It's a new place, accepting any possibility to make it better.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English/Chinese/ basic Korean

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Traditional Taiwanese old house with two separate rooms. I am slowly renovating the house, and you already have a flushing western style toilet.
    Only volunteers will stay in the house, and it's only 2 mins away from work place.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️To avoid any misunderstanding, no meals are provided.
    Kitchen is basic with one induction stove for cooking. You can pick vegetables from the nearby garden and cook simple dishes here by yourself. The house is located in countryside. Be prepared that sometimes you will see some insects or spiders.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Surfing spot ,waterfall and hot spring are nearby. Also, it only takes 1 hour to Taipei.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️It's not a fancy place, just a simple traditional house. I am renovating the house slowly, but this takes time.
    It needs some labor jobs. Please don't request, if you don't want to do work. Also, please remember this is a place for international friends, which means we all must give a little extra effort to respect each other. For me, this is the essence of traveling.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours per day, every 5 working days got 2 days off.






Host ref number: 772744878788