Artist in North Sweden needs help with many things!

updated
Country

Sweden

Favourited 350 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a sculptor and installator that mostly uses recycled things in my art. My studio is situated in a 100-year-old wooden house in Luleå center. We are about fifteen cultural workers of different kinds in the house: filmmakers, journalists, painters, and more. 
I have worked for almost 30 years in this house. My passion is recycled things. A lot of my time goes to finding these things, collect them, sort them up - and store them. I use a lot of time to make my sculptures, one sculpture can take many months, also years, to be completed.
    Even if fifteen persons have there studios in the house I am in periods the only one here. In other periods the house is full of people and life.
    I live a simple life with a minimum of luxury extras, as the art business for me is more costly than financially rewarding.

    I had some splendid experiences together with my former volunteers so I´m really looking forward to meet new ones. Unfortunately there has also been some not as good, as some volunteers has been suffering from homesickness or been depressed by bad weather.
    The weather can be unpredictable here. Often very sunny and warm, but then again it can also be cold and rainy even on times of the year that should be otherwise. If you are not sensitive about the weather and if you are open minded, easy going, enthusiastic, happy and curious you are more than welcome to contact me!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Well, what can I say... All of my volunteers said that they learned a lot, but what exactly you will learn is very hard to say.
    I guess it depends on who you are and what happens during the period.
    You don´t have to be interested in art, but if you are you will gain a lot of knowledge about how I´m working. There will also be opportunities to meet collegues of mine and see and be told about different types of art work.
    We will go for excursions together and I will give you tips about where to go by yourself.

  • Help

    Help

    First of all: I welcome you from 29 may to 21 june.
    There will probably also be a 3 week period in september.
    Many volunteers ask me if they can come in august. Unfortunatly that is not possible. The reason I marked may and aug.
    yellow is that at the very end of this months it´s possible that the periods can begin. For example 29 or 30 of may/aug.

    ART PROJECT.
    I can not say at this time if there is going to be any work at all with my art. There is other things that are more important. However, that might change, and if so, the art work will also be priorited.
    It also depends on which skills the applicant and chosen volunteers has.

    I am very strict and attentive in my art and make fiddly work with small details. If you are clever and skilled in works like embroidery, jewellery making, horology, optiks or other delicate making with small tools and materials that needs steady hands, good eyes - and patience - you are probably the right person for my art projects.
    Also engineering skills or "way of thinking" is a big plus.

    I will update the site if things changes and tell more about the eventuall art project(s).

    .................................................................................................................................................................................................................
    Now some words about what´s more likely to be the work:

    ORGANIZING/THROWING/CLEANING.
    My storage rooms in the basement are full of things that needs to be sorted up and organized. Many things has to be thrown away, so there will be some days of loading the rubbish in some car and take it to the recycle center.
    Among other things there are some cykles. One task is to investigate them, sheck if they are ok or not. Repair if you have skills for it (or we take them to the bicycle repair shop). And throw away the lousy ones.
    The goal is to make more space and make it easier to find things. Finally the basement spaces has to be cleaned up.

    I need a calm, strong, handy and sensible person with good organizing skills.

    BUILDING/REPAIRING/MAINTENANTS...
    I need a practical, careful and carpenter skilled person. You also have to be very attentive, listen carefully to my needs and goals and put them in the first place, even if they are not the same as yours would have been.

    A big wooden box with an art-pice inside has to be demounted and transported. Also the art inside has to be demounted. That has to be made with documented instuctions so that the art can be mounted up again years after, if needed.

    A small table is to be made of a heater, wood and other things. And a bench. The bench shall fit in a particular place in a small room where there is no space for a sofa . The goal is to make the bench cosy enough to be called a sofa-bench. Pillows shall be made and mounted on the wall behind it. And the seating surface shall be upholstered. So here is work also for a sewing skilled person.

    Boxes for a sculpture has to be made. The sculpture is in sections (a 3 meter long glass and two shorter glasses). Metall plates and such. The boxes has to be made perfectly fitting the glass and metall, so the art is safe for any transport. Still they have to be made smooth looking, folowing the shapes of the pieces inside, and with insulation to keep the glass from breiking. They shall not take more space than necessary when standing in my studio (where they will be most of the time). There shall be handles placed perfectly for carying with as less effort as possible and with as little risk for the contents. We will discuss the design carefully before starting to make them.

    Some long and narrow lightboxes that now are standing, takeing space on the floor, has to be mounted on the wall.

    Also my home needs some improvement and adjustments, for example there is a small storage room that needs some care.
    My little kitchen has IKEA-furnishings. The drawers are not the size wanted. They have to be made less deep. This is a tricky job and the result has to look professional, smooth and exact. But I´m sure the right person can make it in a good way.

    CLEANING.
    Beside from other cleaning, now and then you will have to clean cars, for example after our rubbish throwing sessions.

    FILM-EDDITING
    I have short cuts (made with my telephone), and photos, from some of my latest exhibitions. One by one they are not much to show, but if they could be eddited together in a good way it might be a good enough film to put on my website and send along with my applyes and such.
    The photos and films are in iPhoto (.jpg and .avi). If you are skilled in diggital matters and film-edditing you are probably the right person for this. There might also be other diggital tasks for you.

    KITCHEN/COOKING.
    An every day task - more or less - is to make the kitchen clean and tidy after lunch.
    You are expected to make the lunch about every 3rd or 4th day. You will have to plan the food, buy ingredients (with my money of course, but on low budget) make the table, serv and take care of the after doings. The food must be glutenfree vegetarian, or fish.
    If you are not at all fond of food makeing it´s no problem, you will just keep on with the other things you´re doing.

    ......................................................................................................................................................................................................
    Under this line there is other items, but non of thouse are as important right now, as the above.

    SEWING.
    I need help from a skilled person to make some clothes and modifikations in existing clothes and items.
    Also, if you can knit I have a mission for that.

    REPAIR A LIGHT SCULPTURE.
    If you are an electrical skilled person. There is also other electrical things to solve.

    SAW in CD´s.
    This is kind of "juvelery-work". Very exact sawing and very many CD´s to be sawed. Steady hands and good eyes is a must, as well as a good portion of patience.

    SORTING DIGITAL IMAGES
    My computer is overloaded with far too many images! Many alike each other and I have a problem deciding which ones to throw away. If you are bright in looking at pictures and deciding which one is the best one to keep, this is the job for you!

    SORTING.
    I have a lot of collected materials that needs to be sorted up in different sizes, colours, potency and so on. Some of those materials are CD´s, spectacle lenses and pens.
    .....................................................................................................................................................................................................
    FOR ALL ITEMS:
    I am quite a perfectionist. If you are the exact type we will make the perfect match.
    It is not the quantity that is the goal, it´s the quality.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in the guest rooms at KKV (the artists common workshops) together with at least one, probably two, more volunteers. There is two small rooms, a small kitchen, toalett and shower.
    Two of you will share one room. One will sleep in another room. But for going to the shower, or to the kitchen and toalette, you have to pass the other persons room.
    The space is simple but functionel. The windows are not facing outside but the monumental workshops.

    In the corridor there is also artist studios. On the bottom storey are the common workshops.
    The house is close to a forest-recreation-area with walking/running pats, a lake and grillspaces. At this early time of summer it might still be very wet there though, from all the snowmelting. Bring rubber boots if you like to be in the nature.

    It´s almost 4 km from KKV to my studio-house (Kulturakuten). You will have bikes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Luleå is a small town in Norrbotten, situated at the coast of Bottenviken and the outflow of Luleå river. The archipelago outside the town is full of islands. The world heritage Gammelstad Church Town is in the former Luleå, only a few kilometres away.
    About one hours car drive away is Storforsen, the biggest unbound waterfall in northern Europe, a nice place for an excursion and a picnic.
    There are lots of forests in the surroundings.
    Four to six hours away is the always snowy mountains close to the norwegian border. It´s the world heritage Laponia, which is the largest area of wilderness in Europe.
    In the summer the sun is in the sky almost all night (if not hidden by rain). In winter it´s the other way a round (you hardly see the sun at all, not even in daytime). These causes a special mentality in the inhabitants. In winter we can be pretty sleepy, but in summer people blooms with energy and hurry up to make the gardens and other things nice, as the period of summer is short. Still, Luleå is often winning the weather forecast competition of the most sunny hours i Sweden.

    Lunch in the studio will be glutenfree vegetarian and sometimes fish. Other meals you will make in your home kitchen.

    Looking forward to read from you. Welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days a week (six h incl. lunch) Flexible.

UFO, sculptures made of CD/DVDs
Me and my work, on vernissage at gallery Lindberg in Luleå
Kulturakuten, my studio house
Luleå, north harbor









Host ref number: 729337854398