Creative Musician & Artist Community at Lake, 1.5 Hours from New York City, USA

Favourited 536 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    16/06/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We are seeking volunteers for summer and fall seasons. You must be OVER 21. If you are flexible, caring and easygoing, a musician, filmmaker, performing artist or visual artist, or a yoga teacher, that would put you at the top of the list. This is an artist community following an early 60's communal hippie lifestyle. Please read our entire profile carefully before you contact us. We will respond ONLY if you have answered the posted questions. American Workawayers have specific questions they must answer. Thank you! *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Hi, we are Mercedes and Andrew! We were born in the United States, but Mercedes is ethnically Sicilian, Spanish and Mexican, and Andrew is ethnically Italian, German and Scottish. Mercedes speaks Spanish and a little Italian and Turkish. This is our third year of hosting Workawayers. We also have 100+ references on other web sites.

    We operate an ARTIST COMMUNITY. There are often bands, musicians, artists, and writers in residence. Other guests are international and domestic travelers. Volunteers and guests can improve their English, take a cooking class, do arts and crafts, or play a musical instrument. We also do occasional tours to New York City, nature hikes, shopping excursions and other activities. There is a real community vibe here and most of all, we want to everybody to have FUN and LIVE IN HARMONY!

    If you are difficult, complicated, high maintenance, a chronic whiner, or ultra conservative, please look for another host!

    This is a quiet lake community. There's a lot of nature here, a few shopping malls within 20 minutes' drive, and a couple of clubs on the lake shore with live music on weekends. If you are looking for a LOT of action and noise, you may be more comfortable in a city environment. We're looking for positive people with a peaceful vibe. The mood here is good for meditation or creativity (writing, playing music, drawing, etc.). It's a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    FREQUENT: Yard work and painting in spring/summer/fall seasons. Cleaning and organizing, preparing guest rooms, general errands, housework, general maintenance all year round. Snow removal in winter season.
    OCCASIONAL: Internet marketing, making short YouTube videos, organizing items to be sold online for fundraising purposes

    A trial of a week is required for new Workawayers or those who propose a long stay. The best Workawayers are invited to stay longer. One Workawayer stayed for 6 months, but the average stay is 3-6 weeks. We usually work between 10 AM and 4 PM, Monday through Friday, with an hour break for lunch between 12:30-1:30 PM. These are the times when Mercedes can spend time with you; but if you don't need much leadership, there is some flexibility in working hours. You will usually be free on weekends and we expect you to be independent during your free time. Occasionally we could use your help for a special party, concert, or event in the evening or during the weekend.

    Volunteers who help LESS than 15 hours per week are required to buy their own breakfast and lunch foods. Healthful foods are provided on the days you help us, including vegetarian and vegan options. All food preparation, cooking and cleanup is shared, and these chores are NOT considered work hours. They are community dinners that are important for the cultural exchange aspect of this program. If you are on a special diet, we will provide some of those foods, within reason, but expect to prepare them yourself in your free time.

    PLEASE INCLUDE IN YOUR MESSAGE:
    (1) What CHORES would you be willing to do?
    (2) What date can you arrive? What date will you depart?
    (3) Do you have a driver's license?
    (4) What is your level of English?
    (5) Are you over 21 years of age?
    (6) How would you feel about camping out in a tent or a trailer in the summer months?
    (7) Most important, what SKILLS and CULTURAL EXCHANGE can you offer our community?

    We will reply to all inquiries that confirm this information. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️A Skype webcam interview and a scan of your passport or identification is required. If you have no feedback on Workaway, please be prepared to provide the name and phone number of a person who can recommend you and tell us how you live and work in a communal situation.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You must be over 21 years of age and have an intermediate level of English or better. If you need to improve your English in a real work-and-play situation, THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE! We offer lots of English practice and sit-down English classes if you want them.

    Andrew loves playing guitar. If you want to learn an instrument, we have 2 full rehearsal studios and lots of instruments to play with ... guitar, bass, keyboard, drums, and even a cello and a sax. We're musicians who can coach you and give you the experience of playing in a band.

    There are many light and bright areas for drawing and painting. We do lots of crafts, including decoupage, tie dye, crochet, furniture upcycling, and lots of other projects. We have many crafting supplies. The best time for crafting is during winter season.

    Mercedes loves practicing foreign languages, especially Spanish, Italian, Turkish, and Arabic.

    We're making short videos about everything in this section for our web site and social media. We can always use input about that.

    We also love cultural recipe exchanges and entertaining. You will learn etiquette -- for instance, how to set the table and make polite conversation with guests. If you want to learn about American regional cooking, we have an apron and a knife available for your use :-). Take a turn cooking dinner and share a recipe from your country or region.

    We recycle and repurpose everything possible here and you are going to learn a lot about how we try our best to take care of the environment and our Earth. We strive to leave a light footprint on our planet.

    AN IMPORTANT NOTE TO AMERICAN WORKAWAYERS: We know what we have to offer you. What do you have to offer others? Please be ready to represent American culture from your region to international Workawayers and guests during community dinners and events, which we take the time and effort to create for everyone's enjoyment. This is separate from work exchange hours and can occupy another 10 hours per week of your free time. If you don't want to participate in this kind of cultural exchange, consider applying as an Artist-in-Residence. Send us a message for details.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Italian, Turkish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our artist community consists of 3 homes and a trailer. The best accommodations are given to Workawayers doing long-term stays and who are willing to help 25 hours per week. During winter, when we have fewer guests and Artists-In-Residence, it would not be unusual to have an entire floor of a house to yourself, and sometimes the whole house! During summer, when we are quite full, there are many types of accommodations for short-term stays: Private bedroom, shared bedroom for couples or friends, sofa/couch in shared apartment, bed in trailer, air mattress in our office, or tent camping if we are very full.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a fully equipped music rehearsal room and musicians are welcome and preferred!

    Located 1 hour 15 minutes west of New York City, this is a lake community where there are recreational opportunities all year round (swimming, boating, fishing, ice skating). We are near mountains for hiking. There is plenty of shopping and night life on weekends, too.

    When there are guests, it is very busy. Volunteers are expected to put the best interests of our guests first and to keep all areas neat and tidy. Our busiest times are April through November, and that's when we need the most help.

    Most of our helpers use free days to take a bus into New York City and do sightseeing. We strongly suggest obtaining sone references on your social media and profiles on other travel platforms if you want to find overnight accommodations in New York City. It is otherwise VERY EXPENSIVE to stay overnight in NYC.

    We are somewhat pet friendly, but we have to discuss it before you bring a pet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Scenes from Hippie Haven

April 2017 Workawayers with Mercedes
Noemi lived in the trailer for 6 weeks
Saturday night jam session at Studio A, at the Love Shack
We do a lot of singing here!
Mercedes and Andrew
Excursion to Llama Farm
Raspberry picking in July
Lobster festival in August
Deer in the back yard
The main kitchen, where it all happens!
Sunrise over Lake Hopatcong
Bedroom for a single Workawayer


















Host ref number: 698657225279