Help us finish our home, with some creative projects and gardening in Kea'au, Hawaii

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a strong and healthy active senior couple living on a lush tropical acre of land on the Big Island of Hawaii (Hawaii Island). We stay busy on the upkeep of our property and we are in the finishing stages of our house remodel. We are not vaccinated. Our preference is to eat healthy, take supplements, and breathe the clean air of our island and boost our immune system that way

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can learn what it's like to live on a volcanic island. We have many tropical fruit trees and flowering plants to learn about as well as Hawaiian culture. We have eclectic interests. We have traveled a lot and lived in Germany and Italy through serving with the military, so we love to "talk story" as the Hawaiians say.

  • Help

    Help

    The priority for us right now is finishing up the remodel of our house. We would appreciate help with light carpentry projects like adding trim inside and out, painting the outside of the house (some is done) ,and creative projects such as lanai railing and painting murals. Along with that there is some gardening, planting, weed pulling, green waste removal/hauling and moving lava rocks. There can be some lifting more than 50 pounds. Much of the time we would work along side you. Usually during the week days we like to work in the mornings when it is cooler, eat a late breakfast and rest a bit, Then, we often go back to the projects in early afternoon when it's cooler again. That can change depending on the project.

    We hope the Workawayers that come here will be motivated, self-starters and innovative as we prefer not to micro-manage.

    NOTE: We request a minimum stay of 1 month here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travelers will stay in a one bedroom (queen bed), fully furnished, full bath downstairs apartment in an ultra-tropical setting. (3 of the pics show part of the apartment) There is also a pull out single bed in the living room space. We can provide one to two meals a day depending on your food preferences. This can be negotiated. You will be able to prepare your other meals in the apartment cooking facilities. Dishes, cooking utensils, and linens will be supplied. We have snorkel gear, beach chairs, towels, and ice chest available for your use. There is also a TV with a Firestick for streaming.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our property is about 15-20 minutes south of Hilo on the east side of the island. This island is a tropical paradise with much to explore from Volcanoes National Park to star gazing at Mauna Kea to snorkeling at nearby Hilo Bay area. The west side you will find Kailua-Kona which is just under a two hour drive away with many more sights.

    We practice the Christian faith and generally take Sunday off for church, relaxation and side trips. Sometimes we may take a week day off because the beaches and parks aren't so busy then.

    We love people, yet enjoy our privacy sometimes. We have groups of friends over once and a while for "game night" but we're not rowdy or noisy. We aspire to eat healthy (a lot of organic food), but sometimes partake in our favorite guilty pleasures. (Dottie really loves dark chocolate and popcorn).

    We have a 7 year old female cat named Bubbles, a 1 1/2 year old male cat named Ziggy and a younger male one year old, named Fonzie. Last year we adopted a little girl kitten named "Beans" that our granddaughter brought to us from her home on Kaua'i. She's now about 10 months old. Bubbles is still getting used to having other cats in the house because she has been solo all her life here. She and the other cats are very friendly to visitors. Tim is holding Bubbles in our profile picture and there is also a pic of Ziggy and Fonzie together as well as a pic of Beans. We have 20 chickens in a coop with a fenced chicken run on the land so they get out to the sunshine. We hatched many of the chickens in an incubator and got others from a friend.

    For health reasons, we prefer non-smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have Spectrum and internet works well

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 25 hrs a week - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week per Workawayer - can be negotiated

Host ref number: 416197649959

Feedback (18)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Join our family of four in The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Help around the house for busy California family, USA