Baltic Sea view, small town - help renovating and daily life in a great area

Favourited 113 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    05/10/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    243

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    An old medieval house placed at the habour of a small town at the Baltic Sea gets a step by step refurbishing.
    I am 53 years old, living on my own, run a Fair Trade handicrafts and souvenir shop in my house. The shop opens from April to October 7 days a week, in winter only the weekends and holidays.

    There are one or two helpers in the shop all year.
    Besides I run a wholesale for my imports of handicrafts from Guatemala, Nepal and Mexico, and an internet and ebay shop.
    For my imports I have to travel a lot (internet makes it less than years ago) - so I know how much you learn by meeting and working with different people. I would like to share my experiences, host you, help you learn another language, show you around my small home town and let you notice how nice it is to live in an area where others book their holidays :-)

    For free time there is a piano, a mandoline (has to be fixed), 2 flutes, some percussions and a guitar in the house.
    Musicians are specially welcome - but you don`t need to be.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Building:
    It is an old harbour house with steep and narrow stairs.
    Toilet is on ground floor, guest room on 2nd floor!

    There are many bigger or smaller parts of the house to be repaired like
    floors, stairs and banisters (wood work)
    the back wall should be rendered -
    Electricity is quite old - parts still need to be done
    (main electricity jobs require a local electrician and will be engaged then)
    building a toilet on the 2nd floors, including tubes

    I keep renovating the house step by step.

    Construction skill is very welcome.

    Gardening:
    There is a terrace and a small ground to care of, but it needs some care also :-)
    I am planting carrots, tomatoes, beans, herbs...
    Ideas and knowledge are always welcome.

    Cooking:
    just for the two of us, preferred in the evening. We will share this job and sometimes include friends.

    Taking care of the shop:
    There is always work in the office as well as in the shop like tidying, unpacking and pricing new goods, decorating, and other.

    Cleaning:
    As well as taking it in turns to cook; we also work together have a clean and tidy living area.
    This includes washing dishes, cleaning the kitchen, corridors, stairs and bathroom.

    Creative work:
    Some of the walls are still very, very old, need plastering and decorative ideas to paint.
    I collected a lot from the seaside to use for wall decorations but also use paint:

    IMPORTANT notices:
    It takes some time to get used to processes.
    So I think it makes sense to work with me for at least one month.
    I like people taking responsibility and easing daily duties for both of us.
    Still don`t hesitate to ask for a shorter time of stay.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Greek, little Spanish, Italian and Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in your own simple but cosy guest room with a double bed in the upper floor of the house.
    Toilet is downstairs, be aware of 2 stairs to walk down. The stairs are old and narrow!
    You use bathroom (shower and tub), kitchen and terrace.
    No TV in your room (yet) - you can install one if you like, needs a little technical know how.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Baltic sea (harbour of Wismar) 1 minute to walk - opposite of the house.
    Beach to swim: various. From 15 min. by bike or bus to 20 min. by car to the more touristic beaches
    Medieval town - Unesco World Heritage
    A lot of galleries, art, felt and ceramic handcrafters in and around the town
    Cinema - bars - old churches - museums -
    ... because of the geographical location the smallest rain volume around ...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help a lot in learning German, I am quite good in grammar. I have learned some languages myself so I know what you have to keep your eye on.
    Another one of my skills is cooking, so I can teach you a lot.
    Also as a business women i have a lot of experiences in accounting, taxes, German laws, what ever you need for founding a company or fair trade shop, lots of connections to entrepreneurs of many kinds also.

    If you are a great helper there are chances for payment and insurance - depending on our agreements.
    Talking about this can take place after a few days staying and cooperating.
    Since I am running a Fair Trade shop I will be acting fair with you and expect the same of you :-)

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album



Host ref number: 698236487311