Looking for some extra green and/or handy fingers in a small village in Flanders, Belgium.

Favourited 53 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


Contact Register


  • Description


    My 3,5 years old son and I recently moved to a house in the small village of Vichte. Sitting on my doorstep, surrounded by fields and horses, I got the idea to become a Workaway host :-)
    My brain is full of ideas to make the garden more pleasant and full with flowers and green experiments :-). But... as an almost fulltime working mother these ideas mostly stay with ideas, so an extra pair of hands is most welcome! At this time I also started renovating the first floor of the house... so if the extra pair of hands is green and handy, it will make me extra happy :-)
    We live at the dead end of a small street (no cars pass by), on walking distance from the village center and the small train station with good connections to the Belgian coast and cities as Brussels, Bruges and Ghent (from Monday-Friday). My son and I love being outside, ride bicycle or go for a walk or just hang around in the garden or in front of the house. Singing and dancing is his new passion, but he also can't stop talking about spiderman, trucks, motorcycles and other giant machines that produce a lot of noise :-) I on the other hand prefer a more ecological way of transport :-) I don't have a car and feel comfortable with a basic, slow way of life. That is also the reason why I have an interest in the ecological way of gardening (and partially living).
    You are most welcome to stay in my house if you don't mind being home alone during the day (except for Wednesday and the weekend) and if you don't mind living with an energetic charming boy (who can produce a lot of decibels) who will be hungering for your attention.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help


    I would love to welcome somebody who can help me in the garden (chop down small trees, fixing the garden house, prepare the flower garden, make a herbs spiral, make raised beds, clean and pimp my green house,...) or help me with the renovation of the first floor. As I only moved in recently, there are also a few things to do to make the old kitchen more practical in use. But there are plenty of other small things to do... if you like to cook, if you like to entertain my son (we adore music)... please do :-)
    My house also needs some color... not on the walls, but I want to decorate the outside door, the door of the garage and give the window frames a new "face". And if I write "color" I don't mean grey, black or white... :-) I like it colorful and a bit "weird".

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, French

  • Accommodation


    As I am renovating the first floor of the house, I can 'only' offer you a spacious tent in the garden (during summer). The tent is even more comfortable than where I sleep for the moment :-) It has 3 separated 'rooms' and I can stand up in the middle one (and I'm 1m84). There is a real bed waiting for you in the tent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is not much of an interesting village life, but if you like to wander around or cycle through fields, than this place will be perfect for you. With the trainstation only 1 km away, you can easily visit the Belgian coast, the city of Bruges, Ghent, Brussels... all reachable in max. 1h or 1h30.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 683877676625