Join my family and help with painting and renovation projects in Cagnes-sur-Mer, France

Country

France

updated   Last minute

Favourited 121 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a typical Niçoise-style house (built in 1926) in peaceful but central area. It is located near all shops and public transport. It has a 300m2 garden and a mezzanine floor, independent of the house, with a summer kitchen, a guest bedroom with a double sofa bed where you will stay.
    I have a bike garage and can lend one or two bikes for daily trips.

    I've got 2 kids: my daughter Émilie is 19yo and studies law in Toulon and my son Julien is 16yo, still in high school, I have alternating custody of him every other week.
    Émilie is bilingual French/Spanish as she spent more than 1yo in UK and Australia totally immersed in families, she also she obtained an International Baccalaureate (OIB) in 2021.
    Julien has Asperger's syndrome, level 1, i.e., mild, but he is very comfortable with the people he knows. He attends a normal school with only a few accommodations. He wants to become a historian and for his studies, a good level of English is essential (the best historians of French History are American ! And obviously all the publications are in English). Writing is OK but speaking foreign languages is still difficult for him today.

    My mother is Spanish, and traveling is part of my DNA. We all love travelling and meeting new people (Julien included).

    Family and friendship are an important parts of my life. I'm doing my best to maintain good relationships with my relatives and also like to meet new people. Exchanging, sharing, discovering, learning, and understanding are essential for me. I find my balance between work (as R&D engineer), family and friends, sports, and music. Initially more of a musician than a sportswoman (I play the piano and the oboe), sports have become more important in my life in the last few years: I love to swim, I run regularly and above all I travel almost exclusively by bike. I am very sensitive to ecology at all levels and do my best to protect the planet and my loved ones.

    I like to cook but have little time for it so plan to cook for yourself in the dedicated kitchen, otherwise I would gladly invite you to my table if you are willing to have simple meals composed mainly of fresh and organic products.

    I don't smoke and smoking is not allowed in the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I would be happy to help you improve your French, exchange recipes, cook with you and show you the nearby places of interest.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone or a couple to help me renovate the house, mainly by redoing the interior paintings and maintaining the garden. I am not very handy so I need people with experience in painting and gardening: I would be glad to learn from you.
    I love to exchange on various subjects, I'm also found of languages: if your level of English and/or Spanish is good, maybe you can help my son improve his English and/or Spanish; also, as I live near Italy, I would love to learn Italian.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have been attracted to languages since my childhood and enjoy helping foreigners to improve their French. I have hosted my daughter Emilie's two English exchange partners for 6 months each, and I have also hosted a Mexican au pair for 10 months as well as Emilie's australian correspondent for 6 weeks. I helped all of them improve their French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Independent studio with fully equipped kitchen and bathroom.
    The bathroom is outside, i.e. you will have to cross the back-garden to reach it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live between Nice and Antibes and there are many things to do around: beach, swimming, hiking, climbing, cycling, lots of museums to visit, parks to enjoy...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    As a computer engineer, I work from home 3 times a week so working from my place is not a problem at all. I would be glad to help on your project if you need.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Cat or dog welcome if you take care of them.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 385983996226