We need Workawayer(s) to join our family and help us out in the Surrey Hills near Leatherhead, South East England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 372 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    28/10/2018

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking to host two willing strong lads to help us with our outdoor projects. This will be our fourth year with Workaway.

    We have one week from 16 - 23 July available, then from 1 August.

    We live in the Surrey Hills near Leatherhead and Dorking, in a semi-rural location. We have recently renovated our house and detached cottage but there's always plenty of work to do in the garden. We have approximately 1.5 acres of garden and woodland meadow, pond and a few outbuildings.

    The work for this smmer is out doors, help demolishing a large garden building moving rubble and soil and help with constructing a new vegetable garden. In addition, you'll be looking after the chickens including; feeding and cleaning their coop and run. We also need some and help with entertaining and walking our three excitable dogs. You will also be expected to help out at meal times, setting and clearing the table, washing up, etc. If the weather is too bad we will find you some other jobs, maybe some housework!

    Family of 3, me, husband and teenage daughter 3 dogs, a 22 year old cat (21), 8 chickens and mud if it rains.

    We would like you to stay with us initially for up to 2 weeks and can consider a longer stay provided we all get along and if we have no other commitments. Ideally we want someone with good English, a sense of humour and to be part of the family team.

    We don't smoke or drink. Our daughter is vegetarian but we do also cook some meat and fish and enjoy good traditional home cooked food as well as dishes from around the world, so may be you could cook us your favourite dinner!

    We are just a short walk from the village with a few useful shops, supermarket, chemist, chinese and indian take-away and restaurants. In the other direction, at the end of the road you will find yourself on over 500 acres of woodland with rare butterflies and some bird watching if you're interested!

    There are a variety of historical National Trust properties, an world award winning vineyard, the London Olympics cycle road race course, theme parks and other areas of interest all in this area. We are amongst some very beautiful English countryside to explore but also near some larger towns if you want to explore the shops! We have a main line train station 15/20 mins wals, 1k walk from the house, running to local towns and direct to London, so you can be in central London in under one hour. We are also within one hour's drive to the coast. Gatwick and Heathrow airports are also only 45 minutes drive. So we have it all here!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    You must be organised, use the time effectively and be able to work on your own. Conscientious with an eye for detail and have initiative. ...oh, and a open minded sense of humour is a must, we can get a bit silly around here! Experience and confidence with dogs is important. We have 3, two are Australian Cattle Dogs which can be boisterous .

    The main help will be in the garden, heavy lifting, moving and breaking down materials will be required. You may spend some of the of time working unsupervised alone as we may be doing other jobs.

    We suggest you have appropriate clothing and footwear for these jobs. We can supply gloves, masks, etc.

    You will also be looking after our chickens and that also includes cleaning their coop once a week. If it rains It can get very muddy here when we have rain, so outdoor clothing, Wellington or waterproof boots re a must and if you can bring your own work gloves would be useful.

    Volunteer days are five days per week with a day off in the week and one day at the weekend - to be decided.

    You will eat with us Monday - Thursday. Friday-Sunday you can cook your own meals in the Cottage, we will supply food for you.

    Most of this work is for the summer months:
    If you do have any trained skills; carpentry, building, electrical, that would be a great bonus for us but any strength, plenty of stamina and a willingness to give it a go is is fine as we don't expect you to have all the skills needed to help with all our tasks, but anything helps tick them off our list, not in any order:
    *Exterior painting
    *building repairs
    *carpentry
    *Interior painting and decorating
    *General groundswork, clearing weeds around the garden, planting - all year
    *Vegetable plot: watering plants, weeding beds, harvesting, digging - all year
    *moving and tidying 'stuff'
    *Cleaning out the chickens coop - all year
    *building a run and housing for pigs. - a plan for the future
    *building outside wooden deck
    *roof repairs
    *minor electrical work (caravan repairs)
    *managing our light woodland and clearing the pond
    ..I'm sure there's other things I can think of.....!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a detached cottage next to our house.

    You will either be living in the living room of the cottage on the sofa bed or the bedroom.

    There is a shower room, kitchen / dining room and utility with washing machine and tumble dryer for your laundry

    Food will be provided, either eating with us a few nights or cooking for yourself. We eat good home cooked food, traditional English dishes as well as dishes from around the world.
    Linen and towels provided. Wifi is available in the cottage and house.

    You are expected to keep the cottage clean and tidy at all times, especially as you are sharing the accommodation. Cleaning the cottage must be done in your own time, not during work time. We are non-smokers, so prefer you to respect that, but if you do smoke you may do so in the cottage garden away from the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a busy family struggling to find the time to Do all the jobs around the garden as well as enjoy a family life! Mr V works long hours Monday-Friday in a stressful job in London but loves to work outdoors at the weekend. I'm at home most of the time trying to do what I can while our daugther is at school, but the day goes fast with little progress by the time I've done the housework, laundry and walked the dogs..... Hopefully we can host some lovely people to join our family and help us out! Send us an email if you think you would like to join us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day with 2 days a week free to yourself

My Photo Album

Kirstin from Austria completes the painting of the back wall on the cottage.
Faye from Borneo in the cottage garden, nearing completion.
Yusan leaves for his next destination.
Kathi, Germany & Yusan, S. Korea. Kathi mae Black Forest Gateaux for Mr V's birthday dinner. ...Yummy!
Vegetable patch cleared and nearly ready for planting
Work in progress: The cottage walls get a coat of primer before the painting commences. The garden making progress too
All cleared from in fornt of the workshop wall.
Bambles behind the workshop wall, another job!
Sarah makes a start on the vegetable patch with the help of one of our hens
into the meadow
Before: The Cottage back garden
Bookham Common
a summer walk on Bookham Common, up the road from us
a view to Polesden Lacey, our nearest National Trust propery up the road in Great Bookham
Lady Van Daisy, my vintage caravan!
The Brambles before Workaway!
Before: The Brambles, back garden, workshop, green house and veg patch
Before: The Brambles, front garden
Trinity & Molly tobogganing at Polesden Lacey
Chickens in the garden
Richard 46 & Sam 48, your hosts!

















Host ref number: 683651263541