Come and help us on the beautiful Hebridean Isle of Canna: house and garden/building work


United Kingdom

updated   Last minute

Favourited 477 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We would welcome your skills and help with our house and garden.
    Housework: cleaning and laundry in our house
    Skills needed joinery and other building skills, chainsaw, fence building, gardening,
    Gardening - maintaining our vegetable garden and to manage all the flowers and shrubs already growing there - the more skilled you are the better so I can leave you to get on with this.
    General: building, general maintenance, grass cutting, painting

    On Canna there is a population of around 24 people and my family are from this island.
    The nearest point on the mainland is Mallaig where you get the ferry from and the nearest town is Fort William.
    There is a small cafe/bar in the summer and a community shop and we have a great harbour with lots of visiting boats and yachts.
    Canna is a great place for wildlife, birdwatching, fishing, kayaking and having a great time in the hebrides.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This work also gives you the opportunity to spend some time on our lovely island of Canna and be part of the community here.

    We are used to lots of visitors and we just want people to come, enjoy our island and have a very positive experience of being here.

  • Help


    It would be great to welcome some volunteers to our island. I have several projects that I need help with.

    A GARDEN: a flower and vegetable garden which we have started to recover and get working again.
    Digging the garden beds, Pruning lots of bushes, Cutting grass ,General maintenance, Planting out and sowing seeds
    We have a dog and a cat

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    I have 2 small cabins next to my house - one for a bedroom and the other had a toilet, shower and a cooking/eating area.
    We will supply all food and you will cook your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The little island has lots of wildlife and has loads of archeology, culture and local heritage. Volunteers can also spend time fishing,kayaking or just walking and relaxing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 678429527453