Help me turn my garden into a haven in the spa town of Malvern.

Favourited 277 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register


  • Description


    I am a lady living in a sympathetically renovated Victorian house in the lovely quiet spa town of Malvern in Worcestershire. The area is known for it's fruit growing and farming and in Malvern itself we can fill up our bottles with the lovely pure spring water free of charge. If you like walking up the hills, this is the place to be. I lost my ancient dog Dipsy a year ago who had been a lifelong friend and my lovely Fred 2 x years before so now have 2 x new dogs (1 from an English charity who was very abused and needs lots of work and one from Thailand to help combat the awful dog meat trade in Vietnam and the cruelty that entails) so am very excited! I love animals and feed all sorts of wildlife on our walks together, foxes, badgers etc. I have spent a few years now doing the house up to a very high standard and have loved every minute of it. The house is high up, set into the hill and the views from the top of the house are stunning! As I teach English and in return for a 'happy person' who works well with me, I will also spend a little time with my workaways helping them improve their language! Lessons however are only offered at a discounted rate to workaways as this is how I earn my living.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help


    I offer 2 weeks at a time (can be prolonged my calendar permitting!) and try and give appropriate tasks to my workaways keeping in mind strengths and muscle power. The girls who stay with me are asked to help with cleaning/ironing/light gardening etc. which I find difficult due to a very bad back. There is still other work to do in the house (when it's raining or cold), painting (I am a perfectionist, I will show you how to paint properly) etc. but I've now finished the major jobs indoors apart from a few tweaks here and there. I have now started on the garden which has been untouched for some time. I want to turn it into a little haven with nooks and crannies for wildlife and also make a raised vegetable garden, little paths, a pond etc. As the house is placed on a hill we have just put in a side path (nearly finished, still needs a little work) with the help and advice of my builder. Male workaways continue the digging so muscles needed! Still a lot of moving things and cleaning - dirty hands a must! I have had some AMAZING workaways (one or two exceptions) and look forward to seeing them again but I am honest in my descriptions so that you know what to expect. Obviously all the outside work depends on the weather so if it's too cold or raining the work will be inside e.g. painting, sanding down, filling in etc. It's a happy household and I often take my workaways out and about after chores etc. so you'll get to see quite a lot while you're here!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, French, little German

  • Accommodation


    The accommodation is a very comfortable single bed in a double room on the top floor of the house so can be a quiet little escape if you wish for quiet time. The views from the room are stunning and it's named "The room at the top" as I often have actors/actresses stay with me. It has been completely renovated but still in Victorian style but unlike the Victorian period it is an extremely light and sunny room (my having put a HUGE picture window in to bring the views into the room. It is ensuite (toilet and sink) and modern wetroom on bottom floor is your shower. If actors are staying with me my workaways have the slightly smaller room until they've gone, but it's also very nice and you still have the bathroom on the bottom floor to yourselves. I'm told I'm a pretty decent cook. This is absolutely a NO SMOKING house, not even in the garden! You have the use of a bicycle whilst you're here so you can get out and about for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Malvern is a quiet very leafy Victorian town built into the Malvern Hills. The much larger City of Worcester is 6 miles away and easily accessible by rail or bus, London is approx. 2 hrs away on the train (direct) with Oxford about an hour away, again on a direct train. Birmingham (the 2nd largest city in the UK!) is about 3/4 hour away by train. I live very close to the train station (5 minute walk) and bus routes and there are plenty of shops here as well as a few bars, restaurants etc. Definitely a place to stay if you love walking or trekking. We have a cinema, a theatre and a fabulous Abbey in town. You have the use of a bicycle whilst you're here so you can explore yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Although I do not live the traditional family British lifestyle, I chat to my workawayers about it including our culture, food etc. Workaways will learn about very good animal care, gardening and all about types of high standard house renovation. If I and my workawayer get on well (which is generally how it is), I invite my workaway on little outings and they will see some of our beautiful country. I am a chatty happy well travelled person who gets on well with most people.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 per day Monday to Friday

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 673374175491