Fun in the Sun, helping in our garden whilst enjoying life with us in Mt Taranaki...and...beyond:)!! NZ


New Zealand

Favourited 33 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    We have a large family home on just under one acre minutes from Hawera's center, seeking a casual helper or helpers, to assist in the gardens and inside our home with general cleaning and maintenance, 3-5 hours per day (15-25 hours per week), in exchange for meals and accommodation. I'm an American and my wife is English. We look forward to exchanging and sharing our cultural differences. We have two small rescue dogs, Max and Molly that are very lovable and a big part of our home. You must love dogs, especially ours! Whom ever comes to stay awhile, we encourage a positive 'can do' attitude and willing to lend a hand. Start time is 10am, working in a pretty stress free environment, surrounded by a few sheep and lots of flowers.Thanks in advance! We'll be looking out for you - :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an American by birth but enjoy dual citizenship with New Zealand. My wife is from England. We've lived in N.Z. for decades and feel it's our home. We look forward to exchanging stories, ideas, recipes and future travel plans as we've been pretty much everywhere in N.Z.....(twice ha ha) and would love to help plan out your next port of call :)

  • Help


    A great attitude is the most important job requirement. Honest, clean and responsible would all come in a close second place. My wife and I mainly need a helping hand with gardening and housework. No skills required if you're willing to listen and follow instructions. Pretty simple!
    In exchange, you can enjoy our home and grounds, hot spa, and the love of our two rescue dogs, Max and Molly, two very important members of our family. We're both great cooks so we'll look after you, no worries until you figure out where the next adventure will take you. Look forward to meeting :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have two bedrooms - One with a very comfortable queen bed with memory foam topper, the other a single with same. Both bedrooms share a toilet and vanity separate from us. You'll have the upstairs part of the house, secluded and private from our downstairs living quarters. We share the dining and kitchen bar area for meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's many activities in South Taranaki focused around tramping the many areas that surround Mt. Taranaki. The coastal regions are amazing. We also have a beach house in Opunake that you're invited to join us on the days we live there (1-3 days per week). The township of Hawera is minutes from our home. Buses run regularly close by. Also I'm running here and there. You're welcomed to join me whenever I go places.

    If you're in need of a hair cut, I can cut your hair as I'm also a hair dresser. We like our home to be a natural, stress free environment with lots of play time for Max and Molly, the highlight of our days, right next to eating, movies, treats, the spa and enjoying our garden :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 664197154421