Help me to maintain my historic house from the 18th century on the island Als, South Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 397 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    56  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/12/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A little bit about me :
    I run an Organic Bed and Breakfast at the lovely island Alsen. I have only one bedroom I rent out. The B&B is more a hobby or kind of lifestyle, because I like to have people around me. I invite people from all over the world to my cosy home instead of traveling around the world, as I have done in my "young "days. I have three children, who are not living at home anymore, but they like to come back to visit their mom and their old home.
    The house is from 1785 with a lot of charm from the "good old days". The main help is restoring the house and gardning. I have a big vegetable garden and I am nearly selfsufficient. The garden is organic, with some areas of permakulture. So you must be willing to get your hands dirty, weeding, making kompost, cleaning the goatshed can be quite hard. But in return you will learn a lot about organic gardening. You will give a hand with making juice and jam, picking berries. All of the bread is homemade and I can teach you if you would like to learn how.

    I have several educations, ceramist, masseuse and yogateacher. Now I am working at a little privat school as a social educator and teach yoga in the evening at a nearbey school.
    I have a part time job so you have to be capable of working on your own , when I am at work.

    When you come to stay here you will be a part of the family and you will learn a lot about the danish lifestyle and danish hygge. Originally I am from Germany, but I have lived in DK in 38 years. Although my pasport is german I am fully integratet into the danish livestyle and it makes me act and feel like real dane. Although it is sometimes very busy in the house, there is time for coffee or tea and a chat. We help each other with the duties in the daily life. If you like to cook my kitchen is yours and I would love to learn about some dishes of your home country and food culture.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help

    Help

    There are several projects going on. From january to march/april most of the work will be work inside the house, maintainance, painting and you will learn a lot about suistainable building as I do everything with clay, wood and other suistainable building materials. In spring I have to get the garden ready, maybe there will be time for building some garden furniture of pallets. I got one moveable chickenhouse and I would like one more. In spring the goats will get babygoats, three or four every year! In the summer it is mostly gardening, a lot of weeding. It might not be the most fun job, but necessary when your garden is ecofriendly. Help with looking after the animals and baygoats. Autumn is harvest time. Apple harvest and juice making (september/october) and getting the garden ready for winter.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The atmosphere in my house is very familiar. We share the breakfast with guests and friends, so be prepared for long and very interesting discussions. In the evening we often have a little bonefire in the garden (summer) or sitting together on the terrasse, where we share a glas of wine or beer after a good working day or during winter it would be in kitchen/living room. All food is provided . I love to cook and we help each other with the cooking. In the summer most of the vegetables are from the garden. I am not vegetarian, but I often cook vegetarian dishes. I like to learn new dishes from your homecountry. I will teach you everything I know about organic farming and suistainable way of living. But I also like to learn from volunteers, their culture their way of doing things. Only together by inspiring each other we can make the world to a better place to live. I am looking forward to meet you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german/danish/english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the house there are two rooms for accomadation. One is a little guest room at the back of the house. The other room is in between my room and the bathroom, so I have to walk trough it to go to the bath. Well, you also have to walk through my room on your way to the livingroom. This way of arranging rooms is from the "good old days" , not very practical and not so much place for privacy, but you get used to it.
    In the summer there is also the caravan in the garden.
    There is place for one or two helpers, in summer there is place for more. You share the bathroom with us. While you are staying here I will do everything to make you feel home in my old and cozy house and I will learn you the danish way of "hygge".
    Couples or two friends are very welcome. Normally lenght of staying is 14 days, but can be extended if we are going well together and there is place. In wintertime I only have place for one or two volunteers, if you are friends as you share a room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The island Als is in the south of Denmark. It has a special historie as it had been part of germany until 1920. The island had been settled since the bronceage and you find monuments all over the island. It is a place for nature lovers with empty beaches, big forest and very rural sites . In summer you can have a swim in the fresh and very clean sea. Social life like musik and other events mostly happen in Sønderborg. Although it is an island it doesn´t feel like it as there is a bridge to Jutland. By car you are in Germany in 45 min. Hamburg is 2½hours drive from here.
    When you come here I will pick you up in Sønderborg. You can borrow bikes for exploring the island. There is good bustransfer to Sønderborg every hour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

































Host ref number: 593621747982