Autism, selfsufficiency, small animals, gardening, cooking, cleaning, south eastern Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 133 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    462

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This year we only do take volunteers that has experiences from working with autistic children. That's to protect you.
    Because our youngest fosterchild with infantil autism is not going to school at the moment, and it takes some effort to live together with her.
    We want you to have a great time, so if you do have experiences with autism, please go on reading:

    We welcome you into our 3 generation-family. We are working on becoming selfsufficient and we also have small animals. We don't sell any of the things we produce...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about Denmark in general, our way of living and being.
    You can learn to cook and bake from basic.
    You can learn about permaculture and organic farming.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a family of 2 adults (Simon and Hanne), 2 children and 1 grandfather living in a rural area in the beautiful south-eastern part of Denmark. ..
    We have a lovely homestead of 2 acres where we use principles from permaculture, forestgardening, biodynamics and organic gardening to become more and more selfsufficient all the time. We also have small animals (hense, ducks, cats, rabbits, guinneapig, turtle, dog).

    We live mainly from homemade things, e.g. we only buy a few highly processed foods. Hanne is almost vegan, the kids don’t eat dairy, Simon and grandpa eats everything. We love to cook, and the food here is mostly organic, varied and excellent.

    For us the social part of having volunteers is as important as the work part. The work can be hard sometimes. So can the humor. We don’t sell any of the things we produce.
    We have built the house ourselves (since 2004) and we love to live here.
    At the moment we are finishing the construction of the last two rooms of the house. Simon takes care of that.
    We are looking for ONE dedicated person to support us in daily tasks for at least 2 weeks, preferably longer:
    -> feeding animals (it takes about half an hour per day),
    -> help in the house (cleaning, doing dishes, baking bread),
    -> help cooking in the evening most days. If you are vegetarian or vegan, we will do the meat part.
    -> pre-planting in the big glasshouse (85 m2)
    -> planting in the garden, and forest garden.
    -> construction work if you have such skills
    -> once in a while take care of the kids (born in 2006 and 2007)

    In exchange for all this we will let you be an appreciated and closely integrated member of our family, and we will share our life and knowledge with you. Simon knows a lot about soil, plants and permaculture – and he loves to share. We love to also hear about your ideas and knowledge and learn new tecniques, and we love to discuss ideas of how to deal with climate-changes, world economy, welfare models, ethics…..
    Hanne likes to meditate, and you are welcome to join. Hanne is also a chok-release-master.

    We all make a plan every morning at 9.00 that tells everyone what to do for the day, but its up to you when you want to do it, and when you want to have a break. – as long as the tasks are done.

    Working will mostly be Monday to Friday. You can either work alone or together with one of us – depending of what you prefer and the tasks to be done. In the weekends there is usually no planned work, but if you are at home during the weekend, we will all help each other to make things work out. You can also go and see the beautiful country. Here is a bike you can use, and you can often get a lift to the train-station (and back). At the end of this text you will find links to beautiful places nearby.
    Distance to forest: 3 km, to nearest little town 5 km, to the sea 5-20 km – depending on which way you go. In the weekends we sometimes take trips in the nature with the kids, you are welcome to join us.
    If you stay with us for a longer period you can take some days off to go on a longer trip. We will be happy to share our knowledge about Denmark.

    We have 2 lovely fostergirls 11 and 12 years old. They need a lot of attention and contact from us. Working with them is our fulltime job – so we will basically be at home all the time. Our focus will be on adults (including you) and work from 8-14 and mostly on kids from 14-20.
    The smaller girl has infantile autism. She benefits from having to get to know other people – you could say to get out of her comfort-zone every now and then. At the moment she can't go to school, and therefore one of us is with her, while the other is with the volunteer. Usually Hanne works with her before lunch, and Simon works with her after lunch.

    Because of our work with the children, we don't have a very outgoing social life, so for us the social part of the wwoof-exchange is very important.

    The accommodation: You will have a room on your own on top of grandfathers house ()very quiet) or iat our first floor (not so quiet) everything needed will be there.

    We want to validate the chemistry between us before, so we want to skype/messenger with you before making an appointment.
    Thank you for taking time to read all this. We are looking forward to get the chance to give you a wonderful experience.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Danish, English, Scandinavian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room with a nice balkony - view to the old part of the garden.
    Here is a bike you can use, and we will often be able to offer you a lift to the nearest town/ and back.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nice places to see nearby:
    Møns klint:

    Nakskov, Albuen:

    Maribo domkirke:

    Local brewery:

    Maribosøerne:

    Marielyst strand:

    Knuthenborg Safaripark (free entrance):

    Dodekalitten:


    and many more…

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No more than 5 hours, 5 days a week. Weekends are selfservice, see description




Host ref number: 581881163629