Help our family and farm in the mountain village of Crodo, Italy

updated
Country

Italy

Favourited 199 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    39

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we are looking for motivated workawayers - preferably a couple or two friends - to help us clean the garden, open air team jobs, helping with the house and occasionally cooking
    minimum staying 3 weeks


    Hello, we are a small family living in a middle mountain (500 meters height) village, Crodo, on the top north of Italy, in the Piedemont region, very close to the border with Switzerland (25 minutes by car).

    Our philosophy is to do what we can being responsible and respectful towards the environment, nature and people aurond us, trying to work and enjoy life at the same time.

    Franco, 58 y.o., is running a milk-cow farm started by his grand-father. He has started working as a young kid and he has always been doing it with passion and tenacity. At the present the farm is a small mountain farm with almost 40 heads of cattle. Franco has faced the changing that his work has had to overtake during the last decades, also building a new style barn with modern system of milking. He is an associate of the local social cooperative so he sells to it the milk he produces. He doesn't do dairy products, but we do have discount at the local dairy shop (Latteria Dicrodo) that you could be using too.

    Eleonora, 38 y.o., got an advanced degree in Political Science at the University of Pavia. She had had work experiences abroad, in the tourism sector. She has been involved in European projects with the role of taking care of language preparation holding Italian language courses for foreigners. After meeting Franco (in 2007) she started to be interested in agriculture learning more about this job and helping him in the barn and in others related activities. She now has settled as a freelancer for the local newspaper and she also applies for some short-term jobs and projects.

    Maddalena, 8 y.o., is a primary school child, attending the local school.

    PRACTICAL INFOS: HOW TO REACH US
    Our barn is located in the center of Crodo, close to the main road wich is running the entire Valley (Valle Antigorio e Formazza), therefore very easy to reach by car, by bus, by bicycle or by foot.
    We also have a very big garden auround our main house which is located at the entrance of the village, where also other members of the family live (grandparents, aunt, cousin). Going from the main house to the barn it takes twenty minutes by foot and it is a nice walk by the river.

    The closest train station is Domodossola (twenty minutes by car) from where also leave the busses with at least 3 runs per day (according to the period of the year) going to our Valley.
    The closest airport is Milano Malpensa and there is also a bus connecting to Domodossola, called Alibus, which needs to be previously booked.
    Milano is one hour and a half far by train from Domodossola.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We reckon it's up to you deciding how deeply you want to be involved in our reality. The longer you will stay the more you will learn.

    As Franco speaks only Italian ( Maddalena knows a few school English vocabs), it would be nice if you could speak a basic Italian or at least, would like to learn a little bit. Eleonora has been Italian teacher for foreigners, so she will be glad helping you with it. We will all be glad helping you improve your Italian as a language exchange.

    We eat high quality food prefering to choose local and genuine products. We are also curious to discover new dishes you will be cooking for us.

    Eleonora likes horse-riding and she has her own horse. She will be pleased to share him with you.

    All proposals for good practice improvement will be considered and also a space for a personal project will be left.

  • Help

    Help

    We can offer our workawayers a whide range of activities to manage, according to your abilities, skills, aptitude/talent and, of course, preferences.
    The help we need can change according to the season and to the period you decide to come.

    HOUSEKEEPING: everyday routinary chores (washing dishes, cooking, general cleanings and so on). We need someone tactfull and sensitive enough to help us keeping common area (like our taverna) neat and tidy for everybody's need.
    GARDENING: auround our main house we have a big garden so we need help taking away weeds, leaves, dry branches, cutting grass, sweeping sidewalks and terraces, and doing all is good to keep the garden area neat and tidy.
    Help with the VEGETABLE GARDEN and OFFICINAL HERBS garden.
    CHILDREN ENTERTAINMENT activities: openair games, art project, educational entertainment according to the moment and the situation. This can occasionally include baby-sitting.
    BARN tasks: this includes a whide range of activities. From milking cows, to feeding them, prepare the straw and put the straw in the cows "beds", cleaning the calves' shed, cleaning the barn from manure, (help with machinary if able to) and so on. Others: cleaning the milk jars in the milking parlour, etc.
    HAYMAKING: raking in the fields during haymaking season (usually starting by the end of May-beginning of June going on until the end of September-beginning of October) and grass trimming.
    MOVING of fences/BULLPEN for HEIFERS: this includes preparing for our young cows openair areas where to stay and eat fresh grass. The job consists of putting pickets and electric wire and than walk with heifers to the new bullpen.

    The perfect candidates should firstly be wanting to become part of our family sharing with us our everyday tasks, being flexible and able to help according to necessity. We also appreciate proactive and easygoing people strongly motivated to enjoy time with us, learning, helping but also relaxing and sharing stories.
    We give lots of freedom and independece to our Workaway guests, so that you will be able to organize yourselves independently during spare time and days off.

    We usually set a weekly schedule, updating it day by day, as it often happends that needs change according to weather conditions and/or others unpredictable factors.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English (Eleonora), French (Eleonora)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the middle of our main house' garden there is a caravan devided into two rooms: bedroom (with two single beds) and sitting room (with a table, chairs a sideboard and shelters). It's a very simple accomodation with no bathroom and no electricity. We put some solar lantern and candels to have light in it.
    (As an alternative we have enough space to host family/coupples/group of friends travelling with their own camper van or tent).
    This accomodation will give you lots of privacy and independence being sorrounded by nature and the sound of the river flowing nearby.

    In the main house you will have free access to our taverna, a ground floor area with a big kitchen, fridge, wood stove, bathroom with shower and washing-machine. Taverna (a common area used also by other family members) will be the common space for meals and for spending the evenings. The garden is also at your disposition for relaxing (whether it is laying on the grass/deck chair to rest or to read a book) or doing any activities you enjoy (playing badminton or any other games, meditation and whatever).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Crodo is located in a beautiful mountain area, where people looking for sports and openair activities have lots to do.

    If you like mountain bicycle, we raccomend you to bring your own bike, as you will be having lots of path to explore. It is possible to rent e-bike.

    No need to talk about mountain hiking and running (all levels: from simple and very easy, to challanging and hard ones): you will have planty of choices.
    Also bouldering and climbing openair natural spots. People say we have the most beautiful of northern Italy. It might be not easy to reach them without a car, but if you are good walker it is possible.
    There is a bus line running the valley 2 or 3 times a day (according to season).

    Main interests sights: Orridi di Uriezzo, Casa della Montagna museum in Viceno, Water and mineral Museum in Crodo, Parco delle Terme garden in Crodo, Terme di Premia (pool and spa), Veglia-Devero Natural park, Cascata del Toce (natural waterfall) in Formazza.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

the barn (right) and the Church steeple (left) in the center of the village
raking
bullpen preparing
putting pickets for bullpen
the barn
the caravan in the garden








Host ref number: 583545311234