Help with tourists, cooking, general maintenance & gardening in Umbria, Italy

updated
Country

Italy

Favourited 555 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    927

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Torben and Klaartje (= Claire), a Dutch couple living in Umbria, Italy with our two daughters of 11 and 8 years old. We have set up our own business here in Umbria 11 years ago, and have been renting out our big villa consisting of 7 holiday apartments with a communal pool to mainly Dutch & Belgian tourists ever since.
    Apart from hosting tourists for 5 to 6 months a year, we also set up an wine exporting business to Holland and Belgium, some 7 years ago. We now export our own extra vergine olive oil (that we pick in november) and more than 50 different Umbrian wines.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will get to know Italian life, will visit lovely cities (if they choose to). They will learn lots about cooking Italian, Umbrian wines, will have lovely interaction with guests. we have become great friends with lots of our helpers, since we first started with Workaway in 2010!

  • Help

    Help

    Hello! we are now looking for Helpers for the months of JULY & AUGUST 2019

    We can host 2 people (1 couple or 2 friends travelling together) to help us host our guests.
    This means:
    *️️ help us cook for the guests (4 times a week, pus breakfast on Sundays): This means helping with the grocery shopping, prepping and serving dinner, and afterwards clean up and do dishes. Naturally, we ourselves and our helpers eat along with the guests! So it is also a fun night, while working.
    *️️ help us keep everyting tidy (comunal areas, garden, terrace, swimming pool).
    *️️ help us make sure that the minibar is filled, that the plants are being watered... etcetera, etcetra.
    Basically we need an extra set of eyes and an extra pair of hands for all the little chores that need to be done when a villa is occupied by 14 adults and usually 14 children.

    We look for people who are practical, who work pro-actively even if we can not monitor the work constantly (this is VERY important to us), thus show initiative. We also like to surround ourselves with people who have a positive outlook on life. Preferibly in the ages between 22 - 55. We ask for a minimum of 3 weeks stay for each couple in this period. We like our helpers to feel part of the family, while working we try to have as much fun as possible.

    IN GENERAL:
    As our helper, you will help us on 5 days of the week, with 2 days off (Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday from 12 o'clock onwards) Basically, you will be free for 2,5 days, because the working hours on the cooking nights are longer). The working hours are longer on dinner nights, because you also have dinner yourself in between. So you will 'work' from 3 pm to 11 pm for example, but having a nice three course dinner in between :)

    On your days off, we will take you to train station etc, so you can visit the cities in the neighbourhood. You can easily get to Florence, Rome, Perugia, Orvieto, Siena etc).
    Our helpers cook for themselves when we do not have meals together with the guests during the tourist season.
    We are situated on a hill, but you can walk up to the nearest village (20 minutes) where there is a pizzeria and a bar, and we will always be prepared to drive you to train stations etc.

    Anyone who wants to visit Italy and help us in exchange for a beautiful place to stay: please feel free to contact us! We look forward to meeting you all.

    All the best, ciao ciao, Torben & Klaartje

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, Italian, German, Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As soon as the tourist season starts, the couple that helps us with our hosting activities in July and August 2019 will sleep in our 'attic room', which is a room with a double bed and a bathroom. For their meals, our helpers can use the kitchen downstairs (in the comunal area, this kitchen is only used by us and our helpers. All of the guests have their own kitchens). And of course our helpers are mostly outside on the terrace/in the garden, or - on their days off - in the swimming pool, because life in summer is 90% outside!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In their time off volunteers can go explore the neighbourhood, lovely cities all around us, most reachable by train or bus. Daytrips to Rome and Florence are also easy!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week
























Host ref number: 5592814574d5