Help us to renovate an old mill building to studio in Flobecq, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I’m a composer and pianist who recently withdrew from Flanders to a more peaceful and natural surrounding in the village Flobecq, in the Wallon region of Belgium. The goal of the project is to create an ecological environment where people can reside in harmony with nature and their own nature. That includes an orchard with a wild, eadible garden permaculture vegetable production, an ex-mill building to serve as studio, concert space, doctor cabinet and guesthouse.

    Our family is my girlfriend and mother of Jules (6y) and Jef (4Y), me, two cats.
    My children are curious and enjoy attention from visitors. Sabine teaches students how to become teachers, i do less or more the same with music. When the wether is fine I work outside: there is always work in the garden and orchard. First job besides maintance and creation of the garden and orchard is the renovation of the mill.

    I am very passionate about a lot of things, in particular about creating solutions for the modern problems by connecting to people and strive for autonomic living.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Resting and working need to be balanced here and I believe that everybody can be themselves here while offering their mind and hands in their personal way.
    The mill is to become my music studio, but also a concert place, a guest space (seperate bathroom and bedroom space), a place where people can meet without wifi or cell phones.

    In return for your enthousiasm you receive fresh seasonal organic vegetarian food (vegan mostly), a bedroom in the main house or a spacy cotton tent in the orchard with room for two double matras, a cousy fire in the orchard or garden or even inside, beautifull hilly surroundings with multiple preservated spots and walking roads, i can guide you around, show what you can eat in nature here,
    there are occasional attic sells in small villages around, lots of campfire moments.

    The surroundings are great for walking in fields and woods, cycling, reading, visiting small villages, there is a small bird resort nearby, the landscape is scattered with small chapels, there are ecological farms and projects nearby, it’s great lingering in the orchard and enjoy the views or a fire, stars are great when clear sky.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always work outside in the orchard, vegetable garden, garden and the immediate surroundings. That includes weeding, mulching, ecological roof renovation, finishing the walls with clay and paint, some carpentry, new electricity, building a stone well wall, cleaning up outside, cooking if you like, construction of an open carport/wood stock/eco-toilet/shower in the orchard, renovating the chapel walls (paint/artwork), helping locals who cross our path, harvesting fruit in september/oktober, digging and constructing the water pool in the orchard, a herb garden, ...

    There are all kinds of jobs, we are flexible and expect you to only do the things you love doing.

    nature is the base and culture guides it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, flemish, english, french, notion of german and a high sensibility for languages

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The place exists of a main house (where I live with my girlfriend and our 2 children (4 and 6y), a mill building (250m2), a garden in between those two, a little chapel facing a magnificent view and an orchard (3500m2). The ensemble is situated on a hilltop with all around rural far sights with a wood nearby.

    There is a double bedroom in the main house in a private wing of the house. When the wether is fine you are encouraged to sleep in a very spacious cotton tent in the orchard, close to the fire spot.

    We have two bathrooms in the main house (one with a shower and one with a bath) so there is privacy when needed, a living room with family dinner table, a salon, a well equipped kitchen, If i’m not playing piano the mill is open for guests to relax inside or in the evening, a little bit creativity but there is plenty of space here and the views are always a plus. Clean sheets, towels are offered when needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    An important goal is to design the place and surroundings as a place where people can find peace, away from busy life, be in their centre and where there is time for all what is needed and no clock.
    Me and my girlfriend like to cook and use local, organic food with respect for animals. We are open for all kind of people on the sole condition of respectful communication and behaviour. We like to laugh :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.


Host ref number: 313578552214