Enjoy daily yoga, meditation & great vegan food in Frome, Somerset, UK

updated
Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 859 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    15/11/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1055

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple (my wife is Dutch and I'm English) living in a 3 bedroom house in Frome, Somerset. We are both trained as Kundalini Yoga teachers. I, Amrit, am a Kundalini Yoga teacher trainer having trained about 1,000 students into teachers. I am also an acupuncturist, herbalist, shiatsu practitioner and numerologist. These professions have been my life's work for 30 years. My wife, Rasjot has experience looking after children of all ages, and is also a student of Karam Kriya numerology.

    We offer a unique opportunity to learn all aspects of a Kundalini yoga lifestyle; many different kriyas and meditations (mantras, shabds, pranayamas, mudras, dhristi). Information on daily practice is also available to improve on nutrition, sleep and wake up cycles, ishnaan ect. Also Humanology teachings; strengthening relationships, realising our potential as men and women, cycles of life and more. You can also learn to cook great vegan food and learn about herbs, herbal teas and supplements.

    We invite you to join us for morning yoga and meditation this happens every morning and lasts for 1.5 to 2 hours, we also mediate for half an hour most evenings.

    We live in a quiet area with lots of birdsong and we go to bed early and rise early. We find that those who commit to a daily practice naturally get more from the exchange and so we would like you to check first if you want to do Kundalini yoga as a daily practice; if you haven't attended a class then please at least do one on line so that you know what to expect. There are many different forms of yoga and Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan is not just another style of Hatha Yoga. it is a combination of Hatha and Raj Yoga so it combines the physical postures with meditation and chanting encouraging the body and mind to detoxify.

    This is a very beautiful part of England. There will be plenty of time to visit places such as Stourhead, Longleat, Shearwater and Bath. Frome itself is a alternative, lively, artisan town with music venues, theatres and arts and crafts shops.

    Benefits; You will have your own large double room (365 x 355 cm) or single room with access to the rest of the house, garden and all mod cons. All rent and bills will be paid and all food provided.

    We receive many requests so please check the skill sets we would like to exchange for below so that we can all be clear that it will work before writing to us. Thanks for your understanding.


    We are currently looking for a photographer and videographer who is travelling with his/her camera/equipment. Also an animator. If you speak other languages, especially Asian please let us know.

    If you are already a chef or have training in cooking vegan food then it would be great to have you cook for us.

    Some light domestic help needed around the house.

    A good standard of English if it is not your first language. There is no smoking or eating meat in the house.

    In most cases we need someone who is committed to stay with us for at least two or three weeks.

    We believe this is a cosy, peaceful and nurturing environment and we look forward to welcoming you

    All best wishes, Amrit and Rasjot

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Someone who has good computer skills

    A vegan cook. Light household work; hoovering, cleaning.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our house is a short walk/car ride from some beautiful countryside. we are both experienced yoga teachers and vegan cooks. There are frequent markets in our local town, including a big one once a month.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A good sized double bedroom (365 x 355 cm) with access to the lounge, kitchen, large bathroom and good sized garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The train station is nearby (7 minutes walk). The town of Frome about 15 minutes. The historic town of Bath is close by (38 minutes by train) and Bradford-on-Avon and Glastonbury are also accessible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Your hosts; Amrit and Rasjot
Double room for workawayer (405 x 266 cm)

















Host ref number: 513623461348