Visit our organic permaculture homestead in beautiful Noosa (Sunshine Coast) Hinterlands of Queensland, Australia

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    15/10/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    174

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We operate an organic permaculture homestead offering life / work experience in sustainable agriculture. We also host short courses in ecology, geology, astronomy, or climate education -- as well as music / art / meditation retreats.

    Located in the beautiful Noosa Hinterlands of the Sunshine Coast region in Queensland Australia. Our place is a 50 acre, rather remote, plot near the top of Black Mountain with view of our surrounding volcanic region. Our wondrous place is 1/3 cleared grass/gardens, 1/3 forested timber, and 1/3 rugged native bush. There are endless varieties of feathered, fury, and scaly creatures -- we enjoy and respect them all! Its been operating as an organic orchard for over 30 years and we're making it more permaculture focused (to care for the land, care for people, and share the abundance).

    My partner and I are easy-going, middle age guys, well traveled, multi-lingual and focus on quality of life and try to live each day to the fullest. This means sharing great meals, camaraderie, and activities that are both rewarding yet productive. We make time to enjoy the weather, sunsets, hike the local trails, and we hit the nearby lakes, beaches and festivals often.

    I'm Brett, an environmental engineer by training, a builder and jack-of-all trades, and active outdoors man. Nick runs an online travel business by day yet works around the place and cares for the animals. Both of us are very active around the place and work with you rather than having "chores". We have a flock of chickens and a very happy dog that share the place with us.

    Often looking for helpers, teachers, students -- as we're all learning each and every day! We stay busy... if you are looking to participate in an active retreat with space to be with nature -- then we are likely the place for you!

    Come join us in growing our garden/orchards, building new structures, a learning centre, more hiking trails, and other amenities for future guests. We always enjoy and appreciate a variety of cultures, skills and perspectives.

    As we endeavor to accommodate many visitors, our average visit is 7-10 days -- apologies in advance if you are looking for an extended stay or visa sponsorship as we cannot assist.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Varied activities including: tending to greenhouse plants, tree planting & timber salvage, hiking trail / fence building, swale / pond & irrigation construction, land-care improvements, permaculture design & implementation, and occasional helping with harvest of fruit for our kitchen.

    Over the next few months we'll be building: new chicken green feeders, cell grazing pens, hügelkulture and self-watering garden beds, rocket stove hot water heater/pizza oven, trail expansion/maintenance, and a few tree propagation projects.

    Unless you are a trade qualified Australian or have the proper work visa (and a paid project and position are available and awarded at the time) ALL our volunteer helper exchanges are accommodation & shared meals in exchange for your efforts. We take pride in looking after our helpers and expect a similar reciprocal effort from every visitor.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Musicians, artists, naturalist, bird watchers, gardeners, builders most welcome. Work varies with some full days or sometimes just a few hours (as needed) with days off when we encourage our helpers to get out and enjoy the area. We visit town, beach, nearby communities, and markets several times each week -- helpers are welcome to join us. Bicycles available for shared use (though we are on a remote gravel road and in the country). Shared wholesome meals where everyone contributes -- harvest, prep, cook, clean; and comfortable accommodation in a peaceful environment provided. Property has varied forests, hiking trails, creeks, wildlife and many birds -- a real nature paradise!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Greek, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Several accommodation options on the property from: timber barn with sleeping loft, quaint tiny house, magical canyon cabin, comfy hammock, tent camping or camper vans welcome. Unlimited internet, abundant power and spring water, limited solar heated rainwater (no long hot showers), and shared amenities. Workshop, barn, guest cottages and garden facilities in place -- much more to do! We take great pride in the comfort of our guests and rely on the efforts of helpers to create new comforts and experiences for others.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Remote feel yet 15 minute drive to community amenities and half hour to Noosa beach. We are just off the Bruce Highway, 15 minutes from Pomona or Cooroy (our nearest bus/train stops), 20 minutes from Cooran (brewery and arts/crafts), and 25 minutes from Gympie (country town) or Noosa Main Beach (paradise! ;<). Plenty of hiking, natural areas, beaches, and rural properties to discover!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Varies with some 5-hour days or sometimes just a few hours (as needed), and days off (often weather related).

My Photo Album





Host ref number: 496474759944