Live and help with a fishing family near Homer, Alaska, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    335

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small "suburban homestead" or "small house with a big garden" on the edge of Homer. We are also commercial fishermen so our life is very seasonal. There is always some kind project to do, whether it is mowing the lawn, gardening, washing the dishes or entertaining our energetic children. During June and July we are salmon fishing(sorry I won't be able to respond to your messages from the boat). In general I am better at more last-minute planning as opposed to planning months in advance so if you are a last-minute work-awayer send me a message! If I don't respond right away it is because sometimes I neglect the computer or we may be out fishing, hunting or out somewhere off grid.

    2018 spring update. We are looking for someone to come from now, (mid April) until early June. I don't have a very good host rating because I have not been good at keeping up with this profile but I am hopeful that we can find the right person to integrate into our spring season. We are more focused on fishing than gardening/farming this year so this spring is for getting ready for the salmon run, with a little gardening mixed in.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located bicycling distance (4 miles) from downtown Homer with a view of Kachemak bay and the mountains and glaciers across the way. Depending on the season, we will be eating from the garden, smoking fish, picking berries, preparing our boats to fish, mending nets, doing small building and maintenance projects and fermenting vegetables. No mater the season we are always cooking and eating. We are often up for a hike or adventure although usually at kid pace. Sometimes we get out across the Kachemak bay in one of our fishing boats.

  • Help

    Help

    We are open to world travelers and Alaskans alike. Come help in the garden, help with boat, nets, mow the lawn, play with the children, speak to us in another language and share in the preparation of meals! Our ideal helper is great with children, excited to learn new things, clean and tidy but not afraid to get dirty, and willing to jump in and help out.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish and some Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In warm months we have a modest bunk in the workshop so you can have some private space. Bathroom, shower and kitchen are all shared. Our house is pretty small but we are happy to share it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Homer is a good jumping off spot for all kinds of fun. I have a couple of bikes you are welcome to ride and we go to town often and we are happy to give rides when possible. If we get to know and trust you we may have a car available to drive sometimes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 479819698325