Childcare on a big farm on Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    11/09/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    65.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four who live on a beautiful community farm, nestled beneath Mt. Tzouhalem in the Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island. There are beautiful gardens, chickens, cows, horses and amazing hiking trails in our backyard. Many events take place on the farm including the folk festival, concerts, meditation, yoga and 5- rhythm dance. Although it often feels like we are way off in the countryside, it is only a 7minute drive or 20minute bike ride to town. The Ocean, rivers and lake are all accessible!
    As a family, we love to be outdoors gardening, wildcrafting and connecting with nature. I (Megan) am a Medical herbalist and my husband Aaron is a gardener and musician. We have 2 children - 2.5year old twin boys named Eli and Ezra who are full of vital force and energy. We are passionate about nature, health, spirituality and whole foods. We eat organically, and as local as possible, so healthy meals will be served daily :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for easy going, openminded individuals who can help with childcare throughout the week (you will have weekends off). The children are 3 year old twin boys. They love to be outdoors and play around the farm. Ideally, we are looking for someone who has experience with childcare and feels comfortable being left alone for several hours at a time with the children.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a beautiful farm nestled in a beautiful little Valley on Vancouver Island. Through this exchange you will experience spending time with identical twin boys, farm life, amazing nature, music concerts and have daily exposure to herbal medicine harvesting and medicine making.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a large 3 floor, 3 bedroom house. You will have your own spacious bedroom. Three meals will be included per day, and all food will be organic and as local as possible (some right off the land!).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off, there is a great deal of nature to explore (rivers, ocean, lake) and a mountain to hike in the backyard. There are events that happen on the farm throughout the year, including music festivals, concerts, yoga, meditation and 5-rhythm dance. It is also only a short bike ride downtown.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 452218834713