Growing organic Saffron on central Italy hills

updated

Favourited 198 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    14/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I started my countryside adventure on summer 2011, when I bought a piece of forest land on central Italy hills with a friend of mine: a lot of trees, path walks and old stones.
    I fell in love with Valmarecchia valley the first day I saw it, and I thought the land name was a kind of sign: in the local dialect, Boratoja means "with a good will"... in other words "for the ones who wants to trek" as the hill is quite steep!
    The land was abandoned since 50 years, so it was a kind of jungle with the ruins of an old stone farmhouse.

    Now I am going on alone, with my baby daughther... Tough but anyway satisfying!
    I am just starting an agricultural activity, growing biological aromatic herbs (mainly saffron, then some culinary/medicinal plant).
    In the future I would love to have more rooms for hosting travellers, create events for re-animate the small village where I am living (just 7 houses), and hopefully transform the solo job into a group activity.

    Some interests of mine: yoga and bioenergetic therapy, medicinale wild herbs, auto-production, training dogs, backpacker travelling (before having two dogs and a baby!), hispanic languages and cultures...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Seasonal tasks (1 or 2 weeks):
    WINTER (jan/feb/mar) storage ordering, machinery/materials reparing, house manteinance (interiors).
    SPRING (apr/may/jun) collecting aromatic herbs (wild or cultivated), field and garden general manteinance (weeding, pruning, etc), house manteinance (exteriors).
    SUMMER (jul/ago/sep) Saffron sowing (every two years), collecting aromatic herbs and wild fruits, field and garden general manteinance (weeding, watering, etc), preparing marmelades or juices from wild fruits and flowers.
    AUTUMN (oct/nov/dic) Saffron harvesting, drying, packaging, garden general manteinance (fallen leaves, composting, ect), ordering cutted wood.

    All the year tasks:
    -dogs necessities (food, water, walking)
    -cooking for everybody, cleaning dishes
    -cleaning common spaces (kitchen, bathroom, stairs...)
    -sometimes baby caring (play, play, play...)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a countryhouse, 3km away from any food shop, so if you are not working with me for some days I will ask you a contribution for food costs. Hosts will have there private room (2/3 beds), common bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can reach me by train to Cesena + bus (direction Bagno di Romagna, bus stop Montepetra) or train to Rimini + bus (direction Novafeltria, last bus stop), then we will pick you up.
    Nearby you can have wonderful TREKKINGS on the hills/mountains (400/1.400mt) or HORSE ridings, you can visit medieval little towns (Sant'Agata Feltria, San Leo... all reachable by local transports) or NATURAL PARKS...
    if you are obsessed from CLIMBING, you will love the rocks around Perticara (3.5 km far)!

    PS: I have two dogs, Billo and Mina, both funny, cuddly and adventurous... while the forest is inhabited by deers, boars, badgers, hares, porcupines... and snakes!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    When I have time I like to go trekking together or visit nearby historic villages.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    4 hours a day 6 days a week

My Photo Album











Host ref number: 448241855929