Sunshine, Gardening and Horses, in Tucson, Arizona, US

Country

United States

Favourited 185 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    16/09/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    106

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This Tucson home sits on a couple of quiet acres but is close to town. Our goal is to provide a peaceful, friendly, safe environment for animals and humans to interact and learn from each other.
    There are always projects! For example: guest house completion, tree trimming, lawn, garden work; horse and equipment care, horse exercise dependent on ability level; house and meal help. Although there are only two human residents living here, there are two or more dogs, cats, horses, and a mule plus many friends with their critters visit.
    We are both professionals and retired so our minds are in better shape than our bodies! We enjoy sharing the southwest and anticipate learning about other countries. Limited understanding of English is fine if learning English is a goal.
    We have found that three weeks (preferably longer) gives time to visit our area and experience the southwest.
    I have also learned that I really don’t prepare regular meals — We shop with our visitors and buy what they like to eat. If they cook, I like to share the eating and will help but my cooking is sporadic! If a visitor likes beef, pork or chicken, there is a ridiculous amount on hand. If they like sweets, yep, lots. We have lots of fresh veggies and salad makings which often go to waste ....
    I have also learned that I would rather clean the yard than the house so .... any help is appreciated.
    Retirement so far is great and ‘workaway’ has added to our lives.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    We have plenty that could get done but do not stress. Yardwork, gardening, organization, general housework, or cooking are examples of the type of work but it will depend on the person. For example, if someone wanted to learn mostly about horses we could focus on that. If they wanted to learn about plumbing or electrical we could pick a project involving that. A self motivated person will be appreciated, but direction and choices will be discussed. What is asked of the person would be dependent on that persons interests or skills. I believe in treating people with respect and expecting the same. The length of time someone is staying will determine the type of project they could be involved. Dan is an architect, commercial contractor and retired military so his shareable experiences are extensive. Rhonda has worked as a environmental scientist for over thirty-five years including mining, utilities and private consulting.
    On a daily basis we care for the horses, dogs, cats and ourselves. Depending on the weather we can work or play inside or out. I encourage appreciation of the desert and it's history. From our home there are walking, bicycle and horse trails. The bus system is close and will take a bike along which I will provide so access to downtown, etc. is convenient.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The variety of people, professions, and ages that come to our home is unusual. I encourage my friends to drop in to eat or just sit on the porch and enjoy the surroundings. Discussions will promote language skill, encourage questions about the American way of life, environment issues, cultural differences, financial difficulties, history of the southwest and more.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest bedroom (king comfort select mattress) and guest bathroom. You can use this bedroom for two if you're friends. A second bedroom is my office if needed. AC, tile floors. Well water, solar power. Ridiculous amount of food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers will have access to trails, bikes, bus transportation, any family or group trips or shopping. University of Arizona and downtown Tucson are easily reached by bus. I am open to horse camping, archeological Indian site trips or other types of touring around. The Grand Canyon, Saguaro National Park, Walnut Canyon and many more sites are in Arizona

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album









Host ref number: 399866622512