Judy and Gordon a semi retired couple would really appreciate help around our small farm and enjoy the glorious Bay in Papamoa, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/01/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on 2 1/2 acres only a five minute drive from Papamoa beach. While we are not certified organic we do try to avoid the use of any poisons and rely where possible on natural products. We are semi retired with three adult children and three beautiful grandchildren. We have 9 glorious goats and we milk and make cheese for our own use.
    We live with 3 dogs and 5 cats. We also do picture framing from a small studio on our property. We do not smoke and would not want any smoking on our property. We will only host people with POSITIVE ENERGY who are SELF MOTIVATED with a PASSION FOR LIFE and a GENUINE REGARD FOR ALL CREATURES, to help out and join in our busy life around our small farmlet. If you are troubled, sad and escaping, please find somewhere else to help out as we are happy, upbeat motivated people with a busy life, who rejoice in the company of like minded people who are willing workers wanting to share in our culture and lifestyle. We have a deep love and regard for our family and find people with strong family values fit into our home very well.
    Sadly our helpers will need to have 3g or 4g internet on their phones as our plan is very limited. Some WI-FI can be made available for emails but not for downloading movies, music or YouTube.
    The intercity bus will take you to Papamoa Plaza where we can pick you up. Mana bus does not travel to Papamoa Plaza but you can catch a Bay Hopper bus to the Plaza

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are fortunate enough to live in the glorious Bay of Plenty five minute drive to Papamoa Beach, 10 minute drive to Mount Maunganui. I do during milking season make cheese and am happy to share this experience with our work awayers. It is essential that anyone considering staying with us has a regard for animals.

  • Help

    Help

    We would really appreciate help around our small farmlet with gardening, weeding both in the gardens and paddocks, general maintenance around the house, cleaning, painting, possibly milking and feeding goats and assisting with foot trimming. Building and concreting and pruning for anyone skilled and interested would be welcome help.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation can be either a room in our home or a sleep out in our very weather proof tree house. We are happy to provide meals, Toast /cereal for breakfast, lunch we sometimes skip but there are always the ingredients to make yourself a sandwich. We often eat our evening meals quite late if we are busy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are both semi retired, and busier than ever. We do custom picture framing from a studio on our property. We have three adult children, a daughter with three beautiful children who lives locally, our son who also lives locally and a daughter who travels constantly and suggested we join this site. We live on 2 1/2 acres central to Mount Maunganui, Te Puke and Tauranga. We have 5 cats and 3 dogs who live in the house with us, chickens and our beloved goats who do not live in the house with us. We have a swimming pool and in the winter we have our spa pool running. We are a non smoking family with a zero tolerance for drug use. While we are not on a bus route we could usually be able to drop you off at the Papamoa Plaza and there are buses from there. It is a comfortable walk to the plaza if you are happy walking. We are not strict about routines and would encourage you to relax and make yourself at home. Although we are relaxed and want our workawayers to enjoy the exchange we do appreciate enthusiasm with providing help for 4 to 5 hours a day as well as pitching in with meal prep and clearing up after meals, without being asked, we have raised three children and have no desire to return to nagging for help. Sadly our internet plan barely has enough data for our use so you would need 3G or 4g on your phone.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Volunteers Bedroom View






Host ref number: 398185835757