Join us creating with natural materials in the beautiful nature of South Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small community in the making...
    For now we are three friends, trying to create our space for living.
    Maja (German-Polish), Patricio (German-Cap Verdian) and Chris (Austrian)
    and two children, a girl (6) and a boy (10).

    We have a little HOUSE (2,5 rooms) with 0,7 hectar of land around it,
    with 3 little "veggi" GARDENS we created and three big TREES that provide shade.
    We are currently renovating the house, do gardening and building for example a compost toilet.

    Maja and Patrick are running a little massage company in Germany.
    Both spent some time in the community „Tamera“ and participated in various courses.
    Chris is a professional chef and has experience as a permaculture gardener and clay-builder.
    We all are very interested in community-building, radical honesty, NVC, The Work and the subject of free love.

    We wish HELP with the following tasks:
    --- creating more permaculture gardens --- building wood-constructions and planing this
    --- clay constuctions --- creating structure --- cooking, household and lots more ;-D

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come and benefit from / learn about the following topics
    (our main focus is at the moment building with NATURAL MATERIALS):

    ---GARDENing and CLAY tips and tricks ---how to make your own amazing KOMBUCHA
    ---live & life coaching (if wished) ---different ways to aproach children and feelings

    -clay constuctions:
    -- calculation of clay composition for different purposes
    -- mixing the respective clay together
    -- tips and tricks for the correct handling of clay
    -- structural aspects (what to consider during preparation)

  • Help

    Help

    Usually you will work with one of us on a bigger project or you can have your own project (depending on your skills).

    At the moment are looking for HELP with the following tasks:
    ---building and PLANNING wood-constructions ---creating lots more permacultur GARDENS
    ---clay constuctions (you can learn a lot if you like) ---COOKING & household

    Most of all we WISH for:
    -people who are: SELF- & RESPONSIBLE, flexible, independent, thoughtful (well thought-out) and acting deliberately
    -craftspeople and other talented people who can also work on their own
    and who also sometimes like to be alone (e.g. if we want/ have to spend time with the children over the weekend)
    -for at least 10 DAYS (after some "getting-to-know-eachother-days")
    3 Weeks or longer is super WELCOME if we all feel good together. We would like to get to know you)
    -communicate honestly and directly, also about limits, wishes and needs
    -nature-lovers and / or open hearted people

    LIVING-TOGETHER-WISHES:
    -we prefer to work in a GOOD MOOD & still getting things done
    -we would like 5 helping days per week & we still love to stay flexible
    -5 hours of work per day in exchange for tasty, vegetarian meals and accommodation (if needed)
    -we all TAKE RESPONSIBILITY for the place, the tools, our health and nature

    - Monday through Friday we meet around 9am for a quick check-in and the work-briefing
    - We work until lunch at 1pm and around 6.30pm we have dinner. We usually eat TOGETHER
    - we like to meet after dinner, to share how the day was and to connect with each other
    -if something bothers you or you find yourself in a bad mood, COMMUNICATE honestly and DIRECTLY
    to at least one of us, so we can help to resolve things or at least we know what's up
    - if there is the need / wish for inner-process work, we find time for that in a smaller round or will get support
    - we take selfresponsobility to be on time, which does not only mean present in the room
    but ready to start (coffee made etc.)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Portuguese, German, little bit Polish and some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can PROVIDE caming gear. Just let us know what you need!
    You can come in your TENT, CAMPER, HAMMOCK or you can sleep in an old, original portugese HOUSE.
    There is currently one camper and one room for you available.
    The other room we use as a community-space.

    We can also LEND YOU a tent including mattresses and sleeping bag and so on.
    We have an good working outdoor-kitchen and an outdoor-shower.
    We eat mostly vegetarien and are open to raw-, vegan-, sunlight-eaters.

    You wish to eat meat sometimes?
    We have a second kitchen & maybe even one of us will join you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    -Possibilitys to be mobile:
    --borrow our bikes (2 availible)
    --you can come with us to the markets, to the beaches, ... let`s see, what we all wanne do!

    -About the REGION/ possibilities for FREE TIME:
    --hiking, walking and biking in beautiful and peaceful NATURE (hardly any neighbors)
    --lots of regional MARKETS and events
    --the SEA and BEACH is 35min by car
    --a beautiful RIVER for bathing and hiking (30min by bike or 15min by car)
    --a CANYON, from where you can JUMP 9 meter into the water or swim through

    -Nearest "CITYS" around
    --Odemira is a sightseeing CITY with a Chocolaterie, library, cinema, old portuges houeses and lots more
    --Sao Luis is a small, calm and still pulsing VILLAGE with lots of different nationalities
    --Reliquias is an old, small & traditional VILLAGE where you can meet "real-portuges-people" ;-) and see their way of life

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Near river where you can jump into
One of many beaches in the area (round 45min to drive)
2019.11 swale nr 1 after the first rain and with first babytrees
2019.11 herbspiral and swales (swales = water-stop-"little-hills") with more babytrees
2019.11 preparing garden Nr 3 and swal nr 1 and 2 with babytrees
2019.11 garden Nr 3 ready to get planted. Now (january) there are growing already lots of veggis.
2019.11 the first real path
The Kitchenfloor in April
our dogs playing together
Garden Nr 1, just got ready in Mai 2019
Same garden Nr 1: two month later, beginning July 2019

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 748325636153