Help us with some renovation and decorating in our new house in Edinburgh, UK

Favourited 156 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register


  • Description


    We are a very busy Edinburgh couple with a young toddler son aged 3 and a baby aged 15 months.
    We work and run a holiday letting business.

    We are currently letting 2 apartments for holiday lets in Edinburgh and from time to time we will need assistance with this. Ideally would like someone to meet and greet guests and do a changeover at the holiday let apartment/s ranging from once to twice a week.

    We are looking for someone who is highly skilled with decorating (painting and wallpapering) and tiling, as we would like to redecorate a number of rooms in our house and apartments.

    We would also like help with cleaning our own house, cooking in the mornings and evenings.

    As a volunteer you will have your own room your own bathroom, sitting room and kitchen and WIFI. The house is 5 mins walk to Leith walk with many buses taking you into the city center, its a 30 mins walk to Edinburgh city center and 40/50 mins walk to Portobello beach along a promenade. Perfect for visiting Edinburgh and the surrounding area. There is also a nearby frequent bus service.

    We are a very accommodating family but do require someone who is hard working and will put our needs as a priority.

    We need someone is is experienced first and foremost with toddlers and babies (not just with a niece of nephew but someone who understands children very well) and we are also looking for a volunteer who is highly skilled with decorating.

    Ideally we would like someone to stay with us for a few months, (not just a month as it takes time to settle and learn what to do).

    We would like to know your objectives for coming to stay with us so that we can make your stay an enjoyable one and so that you can get the best out of your stay. We are happy to take you on family trips and excursions if you wish and get to know Scotland. You would only be required to work 25 hours per week so the rest of the time is yours...however, if you wish to get another job whilst doing this work for us then please let us know as we would have to consider how this would work in reality with our needs.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Help


    Firstly the volunteers will need to be relaxed and flexible and non smoking. Help needed on an agreed and structured timetable 5 days a week but we will need some flexibility around this especially if we get last minute bookings at the apartments and need your help.

    Generally in a week you will have lots of free time, we are looking for a max 25 hours a week giving you lots of time to explore Edinburgh, helping generally a few hours at a time but every now and then helping longer hours for particular jobs as and when needs arises.

    We need help with changeovers at our holiday let apartments.

    We especially need someone who loves children and loves to cook and help out generally with family life. We need someone who loves cleaning and is organised and reliable and can meet and greet guests.

    We are also looking for someone who is good a decorating - experienced at wallpapering, painting and tiling (is a bonus)

    We are looking for a volunteer to stay for at least a month, with a longer term stay in mind, is much preferred (3/6 months or longer). We are looking for an individual who is independent and can think for themselves and are proactive about working.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Comfortable large city house facing Leith Links (green grassy park). You will have a double bedroom and bathroom with all food included. You will have access to the kitchen, dining room and newly decorated sitting room. There is internet, hot showers, double beds and gas cooker! Mostly food is expected to be prepared by the volunteer/s themselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is 5 mins walk to Leith walk, 30 mins walk to Edinburgh city centre and 50 mins walk to Portobello. Perfect for visiting Edinburgh and the surrounding area. There is also a nearby frequent bus service outside the front door of the house.
    There are many wonderful places to visit in Edinburgh and its the cultural capital of Scotland.
    Arthurs Seat/Queens Park is nearby - walking distance.
    Edinburgh Festival is the biggest Arts Festival in the world with 1000s activities taking place over August/September.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Outside of tasks and jobs, you will be free to explore Edinburgh and Scotland with the city centre easily reachable by foot. Steve is from Edinburgh and loves taking about history. He was a stained glass artist and has traveled the world and still does with his job currently. Petrea is from Ireland and has lived in Edinburgh for many years and has spent 7 years living on the Isle of Mull as a High School music teacher where the family still have 2 holiday homes. Petrea is a musician and plays the Irish/Scottish harp, violin and also is a professional classical singer and is hoping to do some recording this summer. We would be very happy to impart our passion and knowledge of Edinburgh and Scotland to our guests so that you will have a very pleasant and hopefully fun stay with us.

    Volunteers would be welcome to explore the west coast Island of Mull, Tobermory where I have booked a week at our cottage (last week of June) and for spontaneous weekends over the Autumn/Winter/Spring.
    I'm keen to learn languages (Spanish/French/German/Italian)...I do have some language skills already and in return I can teach Gaelic (Irish) and about the culture of Scotland. I would be happy to do some language exchange conversations if you wished to improve your English. I would also be happy to give some music exchange lessons in singing, violin and clarsach (harp). if possible. I am very sociable and would be happy to extend my friends to our volunteers and take them along to some pub sessions where traditional music sessions will take place. We will also have family meals together with our volunteers so they feel part of the family and this is always the best opportunity for us all to exchange stories. At times there will also be some impromptu music sessions!!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 364676433978