Help out on our hobby farm near Perth, Australia

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 317 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    239

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young-minded couple living the dream on our 6 acre hobby farm approx. 1 hour north of the City of Perth. We've not lived here long and are still developing our lifestyle. Our kids are both grown up and visit from time to time. We have a large family of dogs and cats and a few sheep, a pet goat, a pet pig and an abundance of chickens. We often have lambs and currently have one new baby! They sometimes need bottle feeding. Our five dogs include four pugs and a Kelpie. Our seven cats are all adorable rescues with great personalities. We grow seasonal vegetables and have a range of jobs that need to be completed daily to keep things moving.

    We're looking for open minded, fun volunteers not afraid to get their hands dirty - people who love cats and dogs especially, seeing as how we have so many! This is an important requirement of any potential volunteers - please consider this carefully. We would prefer to hear from couples who are happy to work together. Can be any combination of girls/boys but you will be sharing a queen sized bed!

    The tasks are varied and include but are not limited to, feeding animals, cleaning out animal pens, weeding, planting, repairs and maintenance, some housework - a variety of things all on an as needed basis, stuff that makes all our lives run smoothly. Each day can be different and tasks are planned daily.

    We are located approx. 45 mins drive inland from the coast at Burns Beach and 35 minutes from the City of Joondalup. We are around an hour drive North of Perth.

    We are a meat eating couple and we can't cater for vegetarians or vegans. We offer comfortable, clean accommodation and a lounge area away from the animals if that's what you need. We look forward to having you on board!

    As of today we are keen for a couple to join us asap.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    English language as we are English born and therefore all the slang and colloquialisms come in with the package lol!

  • Help

    Help

    You may be involved in planting trees and vegetables, weeding, clearing the fields, fence maintenance, erecting sheds, possibly some building work, all as our lifestyle evolves. And of course care of our animals. We breed chickens so feeding, cleaning out coops, collection of eggs are all daily chores. So is feeding the sheep in the summer months and Nigel (our pig) is always happy to receive food any time of day! The chores are worked out very much on a daily basis by priority, and may vary from day to day. You will need to have initiative and be keen to get the most from your experience with us here. (There are also household chores in the "To Do" list and you will be expected to muck in with washing up and general cleaning.)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In return we offer a clean, comfortable room within our home, with use of the indoor bathroom and toilet, which we expect to be cleaned regularly and to a high standard because although you will be the primary users of these facilities, there are other visitors to our home from time to time who may wish to use the bathroom! There is a swimming pool - great at the end of warm sunny summer days - and a wood fired pizza oven which we crank up quite often during the colder months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are bridle paths in the area and picturesque walks where you may spy kangaroo, and 8 minutes drive away is the village with its shops, pub/restaurant, a number of takeaways and Australia Post. The bus goes from the village to Midland, where it hooks up with the train line to Perth. The City of Joondalup is thirty five minutes drive away and has superb shopping facilities, bars, restaurants, night clubs and cinemas. Another 10 minutes further on is Perth's fantastic coastline and the ocean. We are located a few kilometres north of the Swan Valley, one of WA's famous wine regions and a very popular tourist destination, which has much to offer in terms of restaurants, wineries, chocolate and ice cream factories - its a gastronomic dream!
    Obviously if you have your own transport, these attractions are more accessible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hrs per day, 5 days per week, as required.








Host ref number: 354552291651