Help on our family farm growing vegetables in Eastern Norway, one hour driving from Oslo

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    18/07/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    59.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family farm growing vegetables and egg production in Eastern Norway, one hour driving from Oslo. We grow mostly spring onion during season to deliver to the shops and we also have hens for producing eggs.

    We grow a lot of different vegetables for selling in our self-service farm shop.
    We live in a farm house with our 2 children (10 and 8 years old) and we have 3 cats as well. Grandparents live also on the farm in the house next to ours. There are usually other workers at the farm, especially during the main season (April-October).

    The farm is situated just next to the main road and there is a bus stop with connections to bigger towns and Oslo. The closest town called Vikersund is just 7 km away, where you can find shops, bank, train station and the biggest ski jump in the world.

    We really like to do outdoor activities and we are happy for everyone who wants to join us. Mainly we do orienteering, jogging, hiking, cycling and cross country skiing in the winter.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    The help mostly depends on the season, but the main tasks would be:
    - taking care of henhouse (picking and sorting eggs)
    - seeding spring onion
    - planting
    - weeding
    - harvesting spring onion and vegetables
    - preparing spring onion for shop delivery
    - chopping and sorting fire wood

    We may also need some help with some minor things as cleaning machinery, housework or repairing things.
    If anyone is interested in cooking we would highly appreciate it as well :)

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience a typical Norwegian family and way of living. You can learn a lot about traditions, culture and farming in Norway. Learning Norwegian language can be quite fun and we will definitely try to help you with it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian, little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will get your own room in our house, or a room in the older house just opposite ours. We have too big living rooms for everyone, and of course there is a shower and wi-fi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We tend to spend a lot of time outdoors, mostly running orienteering. We go hiking in the summer and cross country skiing in the winter. There are many lakes and rivers around the place, where you can either swim or go fishing. In the forest there is plenty of berries everywhere during summer.
    We provide both vegetarian and meat made food, so everyone can find what he likes.

    There are also many possibilities for hiking and visiting some interesting places not far from the farm. It is normally possible to borrow bicycles from us, in case their are operational :), if not you can try to repair them and use.

    We had many workers during the years, but through different programs, but now it is time for Workaway :)

    We do not accept smokers!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album





Host ref number: 259647149894