Help on an Organic farm in the western mountains of South India


Favourited 317 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.


  • Description


    We are a couple in our 40-50s seeking to be closer to nature & enjoy the fruits of living in harmony with a natural environment.

    We have a off-grid 5 hectare organic farm in the western hill ranges in India. The farm is 130 km from the heritage town of Mysore & 120 km from the port town of Mangalore which is also the nearest airport.

    The farm is located at the edge of a forest with natural springs and waterfalls and is very secluded. Seasonal visitors are all kinds of wildlife from wild elephant, boar, small animals like civet cats, rabbits and numerous birds. We have converted a part of the farm into a natural forest.

    We grow coffee & pepper on the farm along with organic vegetables and appreciate anyone who is helpful in any way possible. To become self-sufficient with the food we produce is our goal.

    We have a simple farmers life with enough time to enjoy good company & appreciate what nature provides. We are comfortable with people of all ages & pets of any kind. We speak English and Japanese as a native language. We are non-smokers and universal in our food habits. We have two Indian Mudhol hounds that keep us company.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    These are the things that we need help on. Pick what you are comfortable doing.

    1. Planting the nursery for the next season- 3 weeks of work
    2. Hoeing & planting - 4-6 weeks of work
    3. Clearing the forest paths & clearing the bush from the stream. 4-6 weeks of work
    4. Fence repair & maintenance - 8 weeks of work
    5. Dog care & grooming. Daily
    6. Water channels & Bunds – 8 weeks of work
    7. Cottage repair & maintenance- 6-8 weeks of work
    8. Landscaping & garden – 3-4 weeks of work

    Volunteers interested to work on natural farming methods & permaculture are most welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Japenese and Indian languages

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers will share our home & be part of the family. Accommodation is our guest room which has basic comforts with western wash-room. If there are more than two volunteers than it will be a dorm accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers can go trekking, bird watching, learn yoga at Mysore town, we are well connected by bus and the nearest airport is 3 hrs by bus in Mangalore town. Madikeri town has interesting sightseeing spots. The golden temple of Bylakuppe where his Holiness, the Dalai Lama comes to teach is about 30 km from town. The forest sanctuary for wild elephants are also located close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can reconnect with nature & participate in a farmer's way of life, learn & experience natural farming methods. We are off the beaten track on the edge of a forest which has trails for trekking. Volunteers can enjoy the natural beauty and wild life and are welcome to use it as a staring point to other places in southern India. Our place is an escape from the crowded towns of India, it is perfect for those who seek privacy & peace.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Home gallery

Host ref number: 247352421128