Share our day-to-day life on our little farm with dogs, chickens, ducks, goose and a big garden, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Karl and Barbara) have some chickens, ducks, goose, two dogs and a large garden and love to start projects to create our own "Place to be".

    At the moment we are finishing the stables for the animals, preparing the automatic watering of our garden and plastering a wall.
    We both work full-time and in our free time we also prepare our own beer and soaps, we bake our own bread and baguettes.

    We are open for 2-3 weeks stays with a further possibility to prolong up to 1 month.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer helpers accomodation in our house, so you would live with us and share our every-day-life, which is gardening, cooking and household (we are excellent cooks :-) , especially but not only on austrian dishes, including vegetarian and vegan cuisine and dishes with meat).
    We would love if you could cook two or three times a meal which is typical for your country - we love to learn about your culture and your meals.

    Apart from that travellers will be part of our projects in our garden with our animals and woodworking. This includes selfsustainment (we try to have our own fruits and vegetables, we eat the eggs and meat of our chickens).

  • Help

    Help

    The exact tasks change with the projects we deal with at a given moment, but generally we may expect from you:

    - feeding/watering the chickens, ducks and goose
    - gardening and work on the fields (including sowing, weeding, harvesting and processing crops)
    - building and constructing
    - sometimes household-tasks like laundry, cooking, ..

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two spacious rooms in the first floor. You also have a bath room on your own. You can use a small kitchen on the floor where your room is, and we and our guests share a common kitchen. We provide at least one common meal a day and free access to food and drinks whenever you´re hungry.

    Regarding meat in meals, we usually try to eat only our own meat (chicken) or deer, other meat (including ham, salami and that stuff) we just buy once in a while. So be prepared to have more vegetarian dishes than ones with meat! (And don´t worry, also the vegetarian dishes are made to nourish you to be able to do physical work :o)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The easiest way to access our place is by train. Take a regional train from Vienna to Eisenstadt. We will pick you up from the train station upon your arrival. You can also lend a bicycle to go to the train station whenever you want or we bring you there if you prefer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 4 hours per day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 427811238953