Extra pair of hands needed in the Highlands of Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the heart of Scotland in a small town called Pitlochry. We have 1 lodge/chalet and a large Victorian style house. We have lived in the area for 20 years so we know our way around and would love for you to see how beautiful it is here and make it as fun as possible for you.
    The area is a very beautiful area with lots of hills and forests nearby, as well as quite a lot of lochs, great for walking and exploring. We don't have any houses to the rear of the house at all so it goes straight onto the foot of the mountain, Ben-Y-Vrackie. We have a few neighbours in the hamlet of Kinnaird, which sits just outside the town of Pitlochry. The town itself is quite small, with around 2500 local population (rising quite severely in the summer months though), lies in the Tummel valley in Perthshire around 30 miles north of Perth.
    There is just 1 adult family members currently living and working here and Jamie (me). We all pitch in in different areas to keep the place going.
    This is a quiet place for people who like being immersed in the countryside and not really for someone who wants to drink a lot and party.

    We currently need help with gardening mostly, with it coming into spring. We almost always have handyman jobs to be done as well, along with general upkeep of the properties.

    You will be living with Jamie during your time here. There is a studio flat attached to my cottage that you will be staying in. It has a bedroom/living space, an en-suite and a kitchen.
    I practice yoga and golf regularly, which you can join me for. I have done a few yoga courses in Thailand so I can teach you to begin with if you like, you can teach me! I have played golf for a very long time, so can teach you to hit the ball if you want. I live a relatively quiet life in the evenings as I try to be nice and busy during the day, especially when the days start getting longer, which is soon =)

    We have a beautiful black Labrador dog as well who is very much a part of the family so you can join us for walks or take him off by yourself as well.
    My friends will sometimes come round and join us in the evenings for dinner, drinks or a BBQ if the weather permits.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Accommodation and food. I usually go for a weekly shop, you can come along and that means you can get some of the things you like as well.
    Hopefully we can share some of our knowledge with each other while you are here.

  • Help

    Help

    The days on which you will help are pretty flexible. Most of the time we will be working together on jobs/projects but sometimes you will be working alone.
    We would like people to come and stay for at least 2 weeks at a time.
    We will need help in a variety of areas. What we need help with just now are as follows.

    Helping around the property, DIY skills would be very useful
    Gardening- Some work may be heavy and you'll need to be happy to muck in and get your hands dirty sometimes!
    Housework- just general help around the house, we will share the work inside, cleaning, cooking, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedsit studio

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots and lots to do near by if you like the outdoors.
    Hiking, Golfing, Cricket, Football(till end of May), Fishing, Skiing(ends mid April), Yoga.
    We live in a very historical area with lots of different things to see, ranging from a famous gorge where an English soldier once jumped when fleeing from the fierce Scottish army, a fairy tale Castle in the town or going to see The Atholl Highlanders, the last private army in Europe. I can show you around during your time off if you like. There is also two youth hostels in the town if you want to socialise with some other travellers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

The resident pooch- Dougie
Join us on walks. This is at the top of Ben Y Vrackie a good few years back
Summer sunset at Kinnaird
Dougie with Ben-Y-Vrackie in the background
Winter wonderland
Beautiful winter sunset at Kinnaird.

Host ref number: 225148212322