Help on a Beef Farm in Eastern Ontario, Canada

updated
Country

Canada

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    553

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a beef farm near Ottawa, Ontario with purebred Black Angus cattle. My husband and I both work in the dairy industry, so are gone for milking hours, but are home on our own farm in the daytime. We have two children, ages 23 and 25. We have also purchased a second farm with a century old stone house we are renovating. We are very busy, but love the farm life, and all the little pleasures it brings, such as enjoying the sunset on the porch after a long day, or seeing a newborn calf take its first steps. We enjoy making home cooked meals, and I do lots of baking! We have many projects we would love to have with completing. If you would like to learn more about the beef and dairy industries in Canada we would love to share our knowledge with you. We would be happy to arrange farm tours in the area. There is also lots of lakes in our area, as well as some great hiking, its a beautiful area we live in, and we would love to show you around!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be on a working farm, learning about Canadian agriculture, as well as our history and culture. We are near our nation's capital, and will be able to do some excursions to see some of the highlights of our country.

  • Help

    Help

    The following are some of the areas we would like to have help with:

    Cutting wood, including chainsaw work, using a wood splitter, stacking wood and clearing trails in the bush.

    Construction work, installing trim, windows, doors, roofing, masonry work, etc.

    Yard Work, flower bed weeding, helping plan vegetable gardens for next year, and getting area prepared, watering, lawn mowing and trimming,

    Housework, house cleaning, tidying, preparing meals.

    Help with beef herd

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a new five bedroom house,you would have your own room and bathroom . We have internet access, although it can be slow! We have a lovely screened in porch to enjoy sitting in, without worrying about mosquito bites. We have a huge eat in kitchen, and will try to eat meals together as much as we can. You are welcome to make our house your home when you are here.

    My son lives in the stone house we are renovating, and there is also the option of staying with him as well, it is a four bedroom house with two bathrooms.

    Please give us at least three days notice, you can email us a letter with your resume, and a picture of yourself!

    Some questions to let us know when you reply:

    What are the dates you are available for, where are you currently, would you need to be picked up at Ottawa airport, bus or train station? Do you have any specific diet restrictions, allergies or health conditions? We also require you to have your own travel/health insurance just is case of sickness or injury. ,

    Things you will need to bring: work boots, work gloves, old clothes you don't mind getting dirty!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bicycles available, there is a park and a lake where you can swim a ten minute ride away, we are close to many nice hiking areas and lakes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 176461611188