Volunteer on an eco project in Leon, Spain


Favourited 432 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 50 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    oh things are changing here again, Me and two children used to live here, they are older we now spend alot of our time in the UK doing education and earning some much needed money to continue project. Meanwhile my dearfriend Jim is living here while we cant be maintaining things and looking after the giant mountain dog. I am back every few weeks through out the year and for a couple of months over the summer. We are looking for volunteers throughout most of the year but mostly may - October and the main work is June July August Sept.

    Its a really beautiful area, right next to the Picos De Europa (an amazing mountain range) with an open air swimming pool at the end of the road,(only open in summer) theres loads of wildlife around (bears wolves wild boar, loads of bird of prey) amazing walks, climbing horse riding, biking, ski ing...... Leon City is only 40kn away with good transport connections.... Its lovely here.

    in the past we have had lots of horses chickens and goats sharing the land; things are ever evolving, but at the moment we only have dogs and hopefully soon some chickens.

    We live totally off grid here, so be prepared to live with out hair dryers, straighteners, easy instant hot water.
    It gets very dark at night, when there is no moon and can get cold even in the summer as although we are in the foothills of the Picos we are still pretty high up.

    We use only eco and bidegradable products soaps shamposs etc so please bear that in mind when coming to stay.

    Shower are basic and dependant on sunshine to warm them.
    The toilet is long drop style compost toilet.
    Accommodation is in a caravan or a bell tent.

    Its a great place to visit and work and the local town is fantastic; Very traditional spanish, ( lots of free tapas to be had in the cheap local bars) the people are very friendly and although we feel like we are miles away from anything, infact everything essential is with in easy walking distance.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Help


    We have a half built wooden round house that really needs to be finished this year, so some one with practical skills, carpentery or eco building skills or general labouring ability would be ideal for this work.
    We Also need help with general work, repairs, maintenance around the land.
    We would like to build a pallet shed and large communal room if there is time this summer.
    Plus an irrigation system and large garden to repair and maintain.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    * eco building skills,
    * off grid living experience,
    * spanish / english language spoken here and in the town its all spanish so helpful for improving spanish or english.
    * veggie and vegan cookery,
    * permaculture style gardening,

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    depending on who is here at the time...spanish, english, hebrew and more!

  • Accommodation


    You would be staying in a caravan or converted bus. or bell tent. Or you can bring your own tent , some vans can get up here some cant.... depends on your van and your driving!

    Accomadation here is basic and rustic! compost toilets and basic washing facilities. Be prepared to adapt while here!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please contact me for more information; and to find out who will be around and what projects will be happening when you would like to visit, as this is an often changing thing!

    I am slowly putting together a detailed info pack, to send to interested work-awayers, to ensure that you are prepared for what you are applying for😊 Also a detailed transport links info sheet to help you to get to us! bear with me while I finalise this. But ask if u need any specific info in the meantime.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected


My Photo Album

the stream in the winter needsa bridge to cross, in the summer it dries up
Narnia Feb 2014
Cob Wall
the roof so far
collecting mushrooms
the Pozo under construction
a sunny side view

Host ref number: 17144729384b