Welcome on our small family run farm, Daumazan sur Arize, France

Country

France

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    Welcome on our small family run farm, we are Tibo and Helen and have 3 children, Oak, Olive and Zea. The farm is surrounded by forest on a little hill just outside the village of Daumazan sur Arize at the foothills of the French Pyrenees. Although we are in the heart of the countryside the valley is very rich in life and culture and there's lots to do and fun to be had.

    Our main activity is market gardening, we grow vegetables on 1.5 acre. We are planning to plant trees in the garden according to the agroforestry principles. We haven't got any green-houses so our production is very seasonal. We love preparing food with the fresh veggies and herbs from the garden and omelettes and cakes with the eggs from our chickens.

    We've always got lots of projects on the go and honestly enjoy and take pleasure in what we do.

    Please get in touch. See you soon.


    Bonjour,

    Bienvenu sur notre petite exploitation familiale composée de Tibo et Helen et nos trois enfants, Oak, Olive et Zea.

    La ferme est entourée de forêt sur un petit coteau, en bordure du village de Daumazan sur Arize aux piedmonts des Pyrénées Ariégeoises.

    Notre activité principale est le maraîchage, nous cultivons 6000m2 de légumes en plein champ. Nous avons pour projet d'implanter des bandes d'arbres dans le maraîchage en nous inspirant des principes de l'agroforesterie. Nous n'avons pas de serres donc notre production est très saisonnale.
    A nos cotés nous avons Bali et Cobalt, 2 chevaux de trait Castillonnais, qui effectuent avec nous une grande partie du travail du sol, mise en place et entretiens de cultures, binages de précision, débardage, balades à cheval ou en charrette et bien d'autre...


    Nous habitons dans une maison au village à 10mn de marche mais aimons souvent dormir à la ferme dans notre mobil-home.

    Pour les repas, nous partagerons le repas du midi et nous vous fournirons la nourriture pour que vous puissiez vous préparer votre petit déjeuner et dîner.
    Nous avons une alimentation principalement végétarienne et évidement à base de beaucoup de légumes. Nous apprécions aussi, de temps en temps, manger de la viande venant de différents amis éleveurs locaux. Nous avons l'habitude de nous adapter aux différents régimes, végan, crudivore, sans gluten, sans sucre, etc...

    Nous sommes parfaitement bilingues en français et anglais.

    Les chiens sont les bienvenus a la condition très stricte qu'ils ne courent pas après les chats.

    N'hésitez pas a nous contacter si vous avez d'autres questions.

    A très bientôt sur la ferme!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We really enjoy what we do and like sharing it with others and learning along the way. Both of us have travelled alot before settling down and really enjoy meeting people from different places and sharing stories, projects and also recipes!

    We work with our 2 draft horses Bali and Cobalt. With us they do most of the soil cultivation, crop maintenance, precision weeding, pulling logs, horse riding and much more...

    We are really passionate about the environment and try to stick to certain ethical issues:
    -use and development of animal traction
    -use of reproducible seeds
    -use of animal manure whose origin and breeding conditions are known
    -no plastic mulching
    -work of the soil respectful of its structure and with the aim of increasing its fertility (easier to do with horses!)
    -to make it economically viable and sustainable over time


    Nous sommes vraiment passionné par ce que nous faisons et essayons de nous tenir à certains points d'éthique:
    -utilisation et développement de la traction animale
    -utilisation de semences reproductibles
    -utilisation de fumiers animal dont nous connaissons l'origine et les conditions d'élevage
    -pas de paillage plastique
    -travail du sol respectueux de sa structure et avec pour but d'en augmenter la fertilité (plus facile a faire avec des chevaux!)
    -faire de tout cela une activité viable économiquement et durable dans le temps

  • Help

    Help

    As a volunteer, where your help will be most sought after is in the garden. We have a lovely organic garden that needs alot of looking after:
    -in spring: a lot of planting and sowing
    -in summer: crop interviews, crops and irrigation
    -In the fall: large harvests of conservation vegetables

    We sell our production mainly on a market in the neighboring village on Sunday mornings from May to March. So you can help us harvest on Saturday morning and come to the market if you feel like it.
    Your help will also be welcome for all other activities of the farm: helping take care of horses and their pastures, forest maintenance, firewood, construction, etc ...


    En tant que bénévole, où votre aide sera la plus recherchée, c'est sur le maraîchage:
    -au printemps: beaucoup de semis et de semis
    -en été: interviews de cultures, cultures et irrigation
    -A l'automne: grandes récoltes de légumes de conservation
    Nous vendons notre production principalement sur un marché dans le village voisin le dimanche matin de mai à mars. Donc, vous pouvez nous aider à récolter le samedi matin et venir au marché si vous en avez envie.
    Votre aide sera également la bienvenue pour toutes les autres activités de la ferme: prendre soin des chevaux et de leurs pâturages, entretien des forêts, bois de chauffage, construction, etc ...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and English fluently

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For our volunteers we provide a good tent with comfortable mattresses, there are compost toilets and a kitchen on-site. We eat lunch all together but breakfast and dinner are mostly self service and we provide the food. We are mainly vegetarian with some occasional local meat and are happy to cater for any other type of diet, vegan, gluten free, raw food, sugar free...

    Camper vans, caravans, or other vehicles welcome. We accept dogs only if they are sure not to chase our cats.


    Pour héberger les bénévoles nous fournissons une tente avec un bon matelas et tout le nécessaire. Des toilettes sèches sont a proximité et le mobil-home est à disposition pour cuisiner. Pour l'instant il faut venir à la maison pour prendre une douche mais nous espérons bientôt installer une douche accolée au mobil-home (peut-être avec votre aide!).
    Vans, camping-cars, caravanes, camions aménagés, roulottes et autres sont les bienvenus.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Arize valley is a lively and colourful place to be and is home to people from all around the world. There's lots to do and there are lots of concerts, shows, workshops and markets. There is alot of interesting history in the area, we are in Cathares country and there's lots to discover. The nature here is beautiful and the magnificent Pyrenees mountains are very close so there is lots of choice for walking, cycling, fishing and skiing.

    We are 1 hour from Toulouse airport and train station and are open to coming to meet volunteers if needed.

    Aux pieds des Pyrénées, si vous êtes amateurs de randonnée il n'y a que l’embarras du choix.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 159929554869